Multiple Exposure Photography Exhibit

in #photography6 years ago

It has been a busy few months, but I'm back! I wanted to share one of the projects that I have been working on this winter. My partner Jared Wood and I recently finished installing a body of work entitled, Multiple Exposure. This was the first time that we had ever collaborated on a piece of art together, and it was a beautiful experience!

A few years ago I taught Jared how to use a camera. We went to the beach one afternoon and I handed him one of my 35mm. Jared was precise and thoughtful with every image, qualities that often come with working with analog film. He took his time in framing each image, calculating his exposures, and contemplating composition. Each photo took him about 15 minutes, but by the end of the day he had finished his first roll. He anxiously found me on the beach and asked me how to rewind his film. I began to show him when I quickly realized that I wasn't hearing the magical click all photographers love to hear at the end of a roll.... I had forgotten to load the film in the camera! While saddened at first we now laugh about this moment.

Despite this tough first lesson Jared continued to pick up the camera. I love his eye and passion for analog film. He reminded me of why I had become photographer and the original reasons I had fallen in love with the dark room, cameras, and the art of capturing light. He sees the subtle details that often complete a story with a slight sense of humor and finesse. Before I knew it our outdoor adventures and roadtrips always started with conversations about which cameras, lenses, and types of film to bring. We now often find ourselves carrying large medium format camera in our packs while backpacking and sharing our love for photography.

Here is a little information about the show we recently collaborated on.

Artist Statement:

Multiple Exposure is a conversation between perspectives that reveals the ways lovers’ gazes contrast and overlap. The project was born at the confluence of partnership and creative camaraderie and developed over the course of 6 months of photographic adventures. These intimate analog portraits weave together our relationships with each other, the land, and the places we call home. The ghostly resonances in these images embody the uncertainty inherent in exposing film to the sun twice, not knowing exactly what will be emphasized or lost.

pinole2-1.jpg

woodside4.jpg

garden2.jpg

woodside5.jpg

bed1.jpg

yollabolly1.jpg

shower2.jpg

desk2.jpg

couch3.jpg

couch1.jpg

couch2.jpg

garden1.jpg

shower1.jpg

shower3.jpg

Sort:  

Sweet photos :)

Multiple exposure speaks lengths to me and always did as it is a key art that gives you the potential to show multiple realities at the same time, thus giving one the power to give images to dreams and spiritual realities.

Thanks a lot for sharing this magnificent work with us, namaste :)

Eric,
Thank you so much! You reasons for loving multiple exposures resonate deeply with me!

Interesting work. It reminds me of Atral Plane art or muli-dimensional photography. As if the camera is able to pick up more worlds than one.

Oh wow! I wasn't familiar with Atral Plane's work! It is beautiful!

Thank you. This photo shared this photo is very nice. This is an awesome photo, and you're really a good photographer.

This is interesting... never seen it like this before.
Inspiring.

Love the artwork and mulit exposure very ghosty brookeporter thank you,

With love,

harj : ) xoxo
Abstract artist
(My latest artwork is "Kurt Cobain emotion")

AMAZING!!! Incredible. If you like to watch interesting content i invite you to follow me and upvote my last post. Regards!
@azizu

this should be shown in a gallery somewhere in Miami it would do really well *following for more content like this!

Aww thank you! I don't know much about the gallery scene down in Miami but I would love to check it out!

nice art .

Daaaamn, I'm just late for the upvote, but WOW this is gorgeous work! I'm just about to dip toes in analogue photography but this makes my mouth water and want to dip a bit faster! Thanks for sharing, and I do hope I will see more of your work soon!