Woods and Reflections

in #photography4 years ago

Lake Reflections s.jpg

Any time stress starts to get to me my first reaction is to head to some woods where I won't have to deal with people for a bit. There's just something about the stillness and isolation of being in the woods that is relaxing. I took this back in July when I needed to look at something other than protests and police and went wandering in Jefferson Memorial Forest. Mitchell Hill Lake (pictured) was all that could be desired in terms of stillness and isolation. We had the lake to ourselves aside from a few dragonflies and a baby turtle swimming in the lake and the calm water made for lovely reflections.

Tonight I was getting frustrated staring at protest and police photos, nothing was appealing to me when it occurred to me that I just needed a change of pace and revisited my Mitchell Hill Lake adventure. What's your preferred getaway when you need some R&R and a change of scenery? I'm going to have to revisit the lake soon, with the leaves changing soon it should be even nicer :)

Sort:  

I play chess man. And I play a lot. I average probably 20-30 games..

...a day.

Holy hell, how long does it take to play that many games? I love chess but sometimes go months between games.

Not long, I play 10 minute max games so you're not only going against your opponent but you're also playing against the clock. 10 minute max typically means the games are ending around the 5 minute mark, tops. Some as soon as 1-2 minutes

Yeah... it's pretty much a sickness of mine. Watch, check this out. I just screen shotted my stats on my chess app and even pointed out the start date and total for you--'sickness.'

img_4273.png

Well that didn't take long! I barely signed in to grab that screen shot for you and I've already been challenged. I can't say no to a challenge.

Goddamn, I don't think I've even played that many chess games in my life