constantshots daily photofeed: long vs short exposure

in #photography5 years ago

Today I just have a short comparison for you. Long exposure vs short exposure. The subject is a huge drainpipe of an artificial lake. I took these two shots when we made a small hiking trip close to the village of San Blas in Spain. Nearby our parking spot there was this big dam with the drainpipe. It had rained for the last few days and I think thats why there were huge amounts of water shooting out of that pipe.


IMG_4586.jpg
Canon EOS 50D | Canon EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM | F5.6 | 1/1600sec | ISO 800 | 59mm


IMG_4599.jpg
Canon EOS 50D | Canon EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM | F16 | 1/2sec | ISO 100 | 72mm


Personally I like the short shutter speed a lot more. It has much more detail to it and I get a better feeling how the water moves. Also the impact of the water onto the rocks on the other side looks more natural and forceful.

Hope you have a nice day!
Constantin