A not so shy Eastern gray squirrel in London.

in #photography7 years ago


I came across this fuzzy little Eastern gray squirrel (Sciurus carolinensis) walking through St James's Park in London. Hard to think of it as an invasive species that is displacing the native Eurasian red squirrel (Sciurus vulgaris) in Britain. But a lot of people, including the government there is thinking of ways of eradicating these guys such as re-establishing populations of the indigenous pine martens that would keep the grays in check but allow the reds to survive since those are better adapted to escape the pine martens. You can read more about it HERE.

I took these images with my old Nikon D40 and a Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II lens.



Seems like this gray has a really high tolerance for humans...


Hope you liked the post and please let me know what you think about the images. I really like feedback...

Also, I would want you to know that I would be humbled if you decided to use any of my images, however, please contact me about it first to discuss the matter. Thank you! :)

Sort:  

This post received a 2% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @meanmommy33! For more information, click here!

When you're hungry like Scrat, you don't choose who is offering nuts! :)

Oh my God SO cute!!!!!! <3 <3 <3 I saw some too when I went to this park :D There's a video going around (I don't know where it was taken though) with an old lady who made a puppet of herself to feed squirrels!!! What super sweet little animals! (even though some people say they're like rats with cuter outfits, I still like them :D )

Nice job my friend! I love squirrels. In my neighborhood they are not scared of humans at all. It is such a great experience to feed them!

You were lucky to find one such model @creutzy. So good you had a decent camera with you. Upvoted, resteemed & DPS.

I was really hoping for that ;) Yay!

Good choice of photos :)

squirrel-with-acorn.png