Full Moon rising over Mount Athos | Long-exposure set - Through the Broke Traveller's lens - Ep 25

in #photography7 years ago (edited)


Ever wondered how a moonrise over the fabled mountain might look like? Whilst away in Greece, I managed to capture these nighttime shots from the villa I was staying at. I struggled a bit since I couldn't bring my tripod along (cabin luggage) and I had to make the most of this scene without one. In the end I used a chair instead of a tripod but it wasn't ideal. Since I missed out on capturing the exact moment the Moon appeared over the mountain running for the camera, I was trying to rush along and set up a shot.

The details for the top image are: Nikon D700, Nikkor 24-85mm 3.5-4.5G ED, f/8, 4 sec, 70 mm, ISO 800.


Nikon D700, Nikkor 24-85mm 3.5-4.5G ED, f/8, 4 sec, 72 mm, ISO 800.


Nikon D700, Nikkor 24-85mm 3.5-4.5G ED, f/8, 4 sec, 85 mm, ISO 800.


Nikon D700, Nikkor 24-85mm 3.5-4.5G ED, f/6.3, 2.5 sec, 85 mm, ISO 560.


Nikon D700, Nikkor 24-85mm 3.5-4.5G ED, f/8, 4 sec, 50 mm, ISO 800.


Hope you liked the post! Please let me know what you think about the images. I really like feedback...

Also, I would want you to know that I would be humbled if you decided to use any of my images, however, please contact me about it first to discuss the matter. Thank you! :)

Sort:  

just goes to show the difference between someone who knows what they're doing and someone who doesn't. My photos of the moon always look like crap

Many thanks for the visit! I am by no means a professional, just someone really into photography... The Moon is a tricky subject though. Since it is so small in the sky and the lighting conditions require some decent gear and a bit of knowledge to get proper. Not saying my attempts were proper...maybe with a longer lens and a tripod, I might have gotten something better still. All the best in your explorations!

YOu got some great shots, especially considering you didnt have a tripod

I just recently got the platypod to try using in situations where i cant have a tripod with my, such as early morning in the city as the days get shorter, haven't used it yet but it looks handy to try

Thanks! That's very kind of you to say. Never heard of a platypod before, but I googled it and it looks like just the light kind of tripod I need. Thanks for pointing that out. I think you will get some great results with it. Just be careful so that your camera doesn't slip away...