Summer Stalking for Serpents — henlo frens yes dis is snek

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

crimsonclad-sn1.jpg

hey careful no step

With the temperatures here soaring, and the dense smoke from the still-raging forest fires trapping the heat against the horizon in a stifling hug, I'm just not getting as much quality adventure time as I would hope. In a desperate attempt to bring at least a little bit of nature back into my life, I've been getting up as early as possible and taking my camera on slow, meandering walks. I get a little... off... if I don't manage to find some wind for my hair and earth between my toes every now and again. I imagine the early morning commuters on my routes are beginning to get used to a lone posterior sticking up out of the undergrowth, or a jumbled top-knot of hair and a waving lens seemingly wading along alone through the tall, parched grass. I'd like to think they're starting to time trips by my ass, as I snoop about — "oh, dat wandering butt already near the intersection before 7? better speed it up or I'll be late!"

crimsonclad-sn3.jpg

crimsonclad-sn4.jpg

If there's anyone out there who actually likes this oppressive warmth and decreased human activity in this heat, it's the snakes.

Move with purpose and hunt about on the edges of the grass slowly and quietly, and you'll find dozens using the swelling warmth of early light to perk themselves up for the day. Given they have tiny puppy faces and a beautiful shimmer, I'm kind of becoming obsessed with them. Look. Look at his smug little stare. LOOKATIT

sjfoxes-521-6947.jpg

sjfoxes-521-6957.jpg

so far no smush

While I don't think I'll be trapping snakes for sustenance any time soon, my sneak skill is leveling faster than normal. My muted and mindful morning excursions are teaching me to be more present when placing my feet and planning my paths. I keep up my end of the unspoken bargain (namely, don't tread on me, bro,) and the little danger noodles that I get up close and personal with don't seem at all fussed about it. Either way, one of my main goals from these outings is to come back with a picture that ends up as a new piece of art or beautiful print. The better I get and the hotter it stays, the more confident I am I'll get a few really lovely snekky snapshots — I'm already looking at print services for some of this stuff. I've had three successful photographic art print deliveries to Steemians this last week, which is an exciting avenue I never thought I'd get into!

crimsonclad-sn2.jpg

crimsonclad-sn5.jpg

Always keep an eye on the ground, sometimes keep your butt in the air, and find art in whatever you do. I hope you have a great one today.

 
All of these photos are my own, taken on my travels all over this pretty blue marble of ours. I hope you like them. 🌶️
crimsonclad.png

Sort:  

Pleez 2 shair moar sneks!!! ÷)

Beautiful shots of the little cutie

I hate snakes too but...I do love this photo

That's actually freakin CUTE!

I said to em, it's fine. These are boopnoodles, not dangernoodles!

Yeah I'm not a snake fan either, but really good pictures @crimsonclad

I'm not saying your name tipped me off or anything but

Well played dear lady, well played.

Very cool, right up my alley!

Caught this Pygmy Rattlesnake yesterday. I like your photos mate!

hey, thanks!
tbh, I'm a small chick, chasing tiny garter snakes for snoot boops 😂 ... that is WAY more badass! We have rattlers here in the interior, but I wouldn't mess with one. Hats off to you!!!! Did you take any close ups of its angry little face?!

Snek. Wha happen? Snek? Snekkkkkkkkkkk!

how 2 sneek on snek

Dangernoodles and Nope Ropes, oh my! Snakes are underrated cute, they do have very adorable faces.

NOPE ROPES!

scribbles furiously, adds to lexicon

I'm no fan of snakes, no snakes at all... But these photos are awesome and I can understand the magic of the moment, you describe it in a great way. I love mornings outdoors, this is my kind of adventure, except for the snakes;)

sneks are so friendly. They would love you, if you let them...!
But until then, I wish you peaceful snekless mornings :)

Thanks a lot, I guess I prefer that:-)

I like the expression "danger noodles"

Lovely photos. But I dread snakes.

we'll start with pics and work our way up. To be fair, these guys are about as thick as a pencil. I promise you'd win :D

Snakes are great, although most of the ones I have picked up have squirted a stinky musk on me. So you are probably on to something with this whole just taking pictures of them thing. My absolute favorite way to encounter a snake is when we are both swimming in a creek. I'm swimming along, the snake is swimming along, and it is like, WOAH snake, hello there, didn't see you coming... they look so cool just kind of rippling through the water

agreed fully on the swimming snake thing... it is both weird and amazing~

As for getting squirted... well... maybe loosen your grip a bit!

Hmmm there has to be a dirty joke here somewhere, tight grip, squirting... nope, can't think of anything.

LOL. @crimsonclad, yesterday, when I decided to go outside to see if I could get a nature shot for a photo contest, all I found was 2 ants. You're brave. Anyways, just wanted to pop in and say hi!

henlo to you too, fren!

nice lady crimson suggest gett right down in the grass with ur butt in the heckin air.

hey Crimson! they're so beautiful =) I found four little ones a few weeks ago on the Olympic Peninsula...where are you at? The smoke here in Missoula, MT is awful this week. I feel like I'm dying !

I'm so happy to hear from you! I've been thinking about you recently and hoping that you and yours have been doing well. It's strange not having you in my feed much this past week or two.

I'm in Vancouver, Canada. The wildfire smoke here is absolutely terrible. We are hoping for rain quite desperately. I haven't seen any babies yet.. I need to research snek reproduction.... which sounds gross, and will now be in the chain forever.

The smoke any better? I'm still pretty offline. But I've managed to get out of the smoke for a bit. Ahh, Vancouver is cool, I've only been up there once, but it's gorgeous! I like the traffic light signals that switch directionality of the lanes too!!! SOOO COOL!!!!!

You certainly captured the beauty of snakes ;) So many people overlook snakes and refuse to acknowledge their beauty, grace, and gentleness. I have only begun to appreciate them in the recent years. But after living next to a large ditch, I had quite a few of them in my yard, and the babies would surprise me in my flowerpots in the spring. The fear of snakes just totally went away, seeing how scared they were of me (and my cat) I couldn't help but feel they aren't that different from any other creature. They are just misunderstood and villainized by the "devil".

<3<3<3 I love the snakes!!!!! How'd you get so close? :D

the aforementioned ' lone posterior sticking up out of the undergrowth, or a jumbled top-knot of hair and a waving lens seemingly wading along alone through the tall, parched grass.' The lens is a bit longer too. Truthfully, they don't mind much. Sometimes I pick them up 😍

You had me at Danger Noodles.

danger noodles

dead

here, learn your terminology:

I Boop Danger Noodles. And you can't stop me.

I just walk right up and boop em! Yes, I do!

then they ain't dangerous. #sorrynotsorry

Maybe I'm the most dangerous one?

amazing photos.

thanks for stopping in to say so!

I love them!!!
Snakes are such cool creatures!

I don't think you have any venomous ones up there do you? So not really danger noodles....
But they still frighten most people!
Lets love nature together!
Peace!!

Are you for real? Are you a snake?

nah, these are common garter snakes; we only get rattlers in the interior desert areas. I don't think these guys could even get their little :3 mouth around your finger. They're more like boop noodles!

Oh garters can bite you, and its not fun, but it's like being stung by a bee... Uncomfortable, but not the worst thing ever. Mostly they are more scared of people than we are of them.

WOW Amazing shots <3 <3 <3 <3 < 3< 3 <3

@diggerdugg got you a $0.95 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@diggerdugg got you a $0.95 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

@diggerdugg you're a sneaky one. Come comment here so I may goat you.

image.png

Hahaha are you picking dem blue berries again.... upschmoke?

Man snakes scare me..lol tip! link

Hi @crimsonclad! You have just received a 0.1 SBD tip from @followbtcnews!

From @followbtcnews: Vote followbtcnews for witness

@tipU - send tips by writing tip! in the comment and get share in service profit :)
By upvoting this comment you support the service - thanks!

This post received a 5% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @crimsonclad from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

its really awesome picture close shots