Flight Delays and some recent pics

in #photography6 years ago

Woke up and rushed to a flight to the airport for a flight to L.A. this morning. I left just enough time for public transit as I wanted to juice my steps for the daily @actifit competition (go check it out and download the app if you haven't already). Chicago has some great public transit and O'Hare is a big airport so it took around 6k steps (as measured by the app) to get here.

Facing east back at the city from the blue line western stop
20180720 Blue Line.jpg

I live right downtown so I always enjoy when I can get a bit further out of the city... even if it is just traveling to the airport.

Upon arriving to the airport, I learned my flight's plane had been struck by lightning on the way in and would be delayed 2.75hrs for maintenance. On the bright side, it leaves me sometime for a more extended blog post and some time to wander around the airport for a bit more step accrual (the competition has gotten fierce the last few days with the top five participants over 20k...).

While wandering around in my neighborhood on Friday, I took some additional pictures that I think turned out really well and are in an area I don't frequently visit.

Looking west in Lakeshore East Park
20180719 Lakeshore East.jpg

I always love the contrast of having so much plant life in the middle of so much concrete. The building straight ahead and slightly to the right is the Aqua skyscraper which is the largest building ever built by a female-led architectural team (Jeanne Gang).

A straight on photo of the Aqua from the middle of the park
![20180719 Lakeshore East 3.jpg](

The undulating balcony design is really cool and give it a unique look. Jeanne and the rest of her Gang (lol, see what I did there) are actually building a second one in the neighborhood that is suppose to be even larger. I can't recall offhand what it will be named but here is another pic of the current construction.

20180719 Lakeshore East 2.jpg

Anyway, thanks for stopping by - hope you found something interesting!

*** All pictures with Google Pixel II

Sort:  

wow love your photography..keep it up

Thanks!

You took very beautiful and clean shots. There is no sky scrappers here. Only cocoa house building at cocoa house at ibadan Nigeria is the only one i know here and its been built before i was even born

Thanks! I've been trying improve my photo taking. I had never heard of the cocoa house before but I google it and it looks pretty cool - completed in 1965!

You see its been so long. Even my dad has not been born

hehe love your commitment to the daily leaderboard :)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-20T15:11:45
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 19.50/100.00
Total Photos: 3
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank