Glen Ord Distillery

in #photography6 years ago

DSCF1592.JPG

Glen Ord Distillery

Glen Ord Distillery is located in the Muir of Ord village and it produces Singleton Whisky for Asian export. This means that the only place in Europe that you can taste this whisky is here in the highlands.

DSCF1590.JPG

The distillery is located just outside the village, a 15minutes walk from the train station. The general tour costs £8 and it includes a tase of whisky. Because of the fumes created by the processes photography is not allowed inside distillery, except for the tasing and exhibition rooms.

DSCF1591.JPG

A friendly guide explained to us how whisky is made and what gives each malt its unique flavours. It all starts with the grains germination, peat smoke and grinding. Here you see all of the ingredients used in making whisky.

DSCF1593.JPG

Glen Ord distillery provides malt to the Isle of Skye. This peated malt gives Talskier whisky it's smoky flavour. I was pleased to have the opportunity to see and smell the malt. It was a fun experience.

DSCF1594.JPG

After the tour, a time came to taste Singleton 15years old whisky looking at maturing casks. If you ask me, this whisky is excellent. I could smell fruitcake to start with, then I could taste the orange and ginger notes, followed by a toffee finish.

DSCF1597.JPG

Photographed with Fujifilm FinePix S2500HD Camera. Edited using Gimp

Sort:  

Umm I can't wait to do a tour of all the distilleries one day ! 💯🐒

Wow, there are lots and lots of them! :D Have you been to one before?

No! I have a plan to do Islay mainly and Jura then take it from there 💯🐒

Yummy! Scotland here I coooomeee....

Cool, I think I want to feel that too. Greetings from Aceh, Indonesia.

nice place with beautiful content.