Utilising free photographic resources

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

One of my recent interest veers into photo editing. And the most famous among the many softwares available to edit photos is non other than Photoshop by Adobe. So much association of this software is to photo editing that an edited photo is often referred to as "photoshopped". So, that was the natural first software I was about to explore.

But then I was shocked by its price. The below is the cheapest price on a monthly payment scheme.

Screen Shot 2018-02-02 at 4.52.49 PM.png

Of course there is always the option of the illegal downloads available. But things should be done right. Piracy is just not right. Well, there must be an alternative right? for a casual hobbyist...

Then I came across Gimp, an image editor developed under the open source movement. Free to be downloaded and used. Perfect for a newbie like me.... and after many hours of reading blogs and watching youtube videos, I could do some basic editing with it. It was fun. Especially when I stumble upon the next huge freebies on the internet...

https://pixabay.com/

Wow! so many stunning photos and videos that I could download to use... people are just so generous and I am touched with a deep sense of gratitude.

So, what could Gimp do? almost anything Photoshop can, I was told...

A stock photo from pixabay:
fantasy-3077928.jpg

Subject erased:
fantasy-template.jpg

Subject replaced:
fantasy-Cici.jpg

This provides countless hours of fun for me... till I find the next engaging activity...

Sort:  

great information... maybe I should try it.