Careers in Korea #1

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

a-police-visor-lolipop.jpg

I was lucky enough to spend a large part of 2017 in beautiful South Korea. I'll in more explain detail in later posts, but I've always found my camera to be an incredible tool in helping me learn about a place and it's people. I'd only been in Korea for about 36 hours at this point, when I was walking along an elevated walkway surrounded in roses with the sun streaming through.

I came across this lady walking in the opposite direction, pushing her children in a pram, and I managed to get this photo. With the help of a friend of mine who speaks a little Korean, we found out that she works as a road crossing patrol officer. She described the job as perfect for fitting around her busy schedule and allowing her to spend as much time with her children as possible.

It was a really eye-opening and friendly first encounter for me in Korea. I was taken aback how willing and open she was to talk to a big foreign stranger who didn't speak her language. It really set the tone for the rest of my time in Korea.

Sort:  

Congratulations on your first post! And what a wonderful photo it is as well!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @danmoves to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!