Deranged Photography Contest - Portrait Thursday Theme

portraits.jpg

Photo by me

Portraits

pageBreak.png

Thursday's theme is all about Portraits. They can be candid portraits, studio portraits, basically any type of portrait photo you want to showcase. So what is a portrait? It is more than just a photo of someone. It is supposed to give some insight about the person and tell a bit about who that person is, what their interests are, or the mood they are feeling. Get creative with your shots. Portraits can be a lot of fun for both the photographer and the one being photographed.

How is the Deranged Photography Contest set up?

pageBreak.png

The contest is broken up into three different tiers. Each will have a different rewards for the winners based on what tier you enter into. Here is a breakdown of the rewards based on the tiers:

PlaceProfessionalAmateurBeginner
1st100% Upvote80% Upvote60% Upvote
2nd80% Upvote60% Upvote40% Upvote
3rd60% Upvote40% Upvote30% Upvote

Each contest will be open for submissions for 6 days and close on the 7th day so that winners can be picked and the new post can be made.

What are the themes?

  • Monday - Macro
  • Tuesday - Landscapes
  • Wednesday - Wildlife
  • Thursday - Portraits
  • Friday - Sports
  • Saturday - Black and White
  • Sunday - Street photography

How to enter

pageBreak.png

When you enter a photo in the competition, you will state what tier you want to be judged in and locked in for the month at that level.

For example if you enter a photo, you drop the photo in the comment section, state what level of photographer you are, and then give a description of the photograph.

That's pretty much it, drop a photo in the comment section of this post and state your tier. If you want to make a separate post for your entry as well, that is fine, but for your entry to be valid, your photo and tier must be in here in the comment section of this post. If you do make a separate post, be sure to use the #photography and #creativecoin tags.

Additional Notes

pageBreak.png

  • Only one submission per contest. Extra submissions will be ignored.

  • You can switch your tier ONE time per month, but only if you are moving up into a higher tier, for example if you are currently in the amateur tier, but you think that you have a photograph that you want to enter in the professional tier, you can state that you are changing your tier to professional. You will then be locked into the new tier for the remainder of the month. You are not able to move down to a lower tier, like going from amateur to the beginner tier.

  • If you do not state which tier you want to be judged in for the month, I will leave a comment to remind you to do so, but if you don't respond, you will be assigned to a tier and locked in for that month.

  • Plagiarism will not be tolerated in any form. All submissions must be your own work. I will investigate every entry and if you are caught plagiarizing, not only will you be blacklisted from competing from any future contests, but you will be reported to @steemcleaners as well. It is not worth it to try and cheat, especially with the 3 tier set up where everyone has an equal shot of winning.

Thank you to everyone that will be participating. The contest wouldn't be around without your great submissions!

Deranged_Photography_Banner1.png

curator.png

Sort:  

Amateur:

Some lovely old fella in the streets of Bhaktapur

Lost in the mangrove inspecting this unusual world... ;-)
Tier : Pro

Raima21.jpg

A shot from my last shooting in Venice with the model Giulia.
I tried to make the photo lively, with bright and vibrant colors to emphasize Giulia's youth and beauty.

P1340163+steemit.jpg

Tier: Pro

https://www.creativecoin.xyz/palnet/@alequandro/portrait-of-the-model-giulia-with-natural-light-in-venice-ritratto-della-modella-giulia-con-luce-naturale-a-venezia

I hope you like it is photographic work, seeking to express the essence of the model to the comfort of brands, makeup and light, to obtain a photograph that represents those products. Tier: Amateur

DSC_5856.jpg

https://www.photostreem.com/photography/@davidsuarezms/flash-runway-the-portrait-of-the-light

hello! my entry today. the amateur tier, please.

aw9brghxbe.jpg
taken with Canon 5d +Sigma 50mm 1.4 on the street of St.Petersburg. (this 'golden boy' is just one of the animators who lures people to take pictures with him on the street). what is intresting about this capture: I unholstered the camera and prepared to take a pic of his back, and all of a sudden he turned, and I take the pic of his face, totally unstaged! no doubles, the only click I did, bring me the harvest. happy end.

Sometimes you have to go through darkness to get to the light


Non published yet and here is first frame from few weeks ago photoshoot of our good friends - actress from local non-conventional theater "Apeironas".
My favorite abandoned location and some game play of light and darkness

Natural light only fits very well for such kind of emotional portraits


2019_08_07_360091.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!


https://steemit.com/photography/@axeman/sometimes-you-have-to-go-through-darkness-to-get-to-the-light

Great shot. Love the lighting on this.

Beautiful framing and lighting 👏

"Let me love you a little more before you're not little anymore"

Tier: Beginner

Image taken in November of 2001 with my former Minolta Dimage digital camera while on vacation in the Great Smoky Mountains.

In what feels like a blink of the eye, my son grew from this adorable little two-year-old nugget to become a young man finishing the last chapter of his teenage years at the end of this month...

dudbtsod1j.jpg

https://steemit.com/photography/@ninahaskin/let-me-love-you-a-little-more-before-you-re-not-little-anymore

This is a shot taken in the last winter of my girlfriend. I wanted to get this sunset glow in her yellow eyes.

Tier: amateur
DSC_05632.jpg

Also a question. Do I need to state a tier every time I enter a shot?

The expression "the eyes are the windows to the soul" springs to mind when I look at your girlfriend's captivating eyes! @greddyforce

Great shot. Yes, please state your tier with each entry. It helps to keep things moving smoothly when I judge, so I wont have to look back and try and find the posts that have where you first put the tier in it.

This is my entry, thank you!

DDH_2415.jpg

Photo from a studio shoot with the model Rara and my favorite MUA Evi Velinova

https://steempeak.com/creativecoin/@lightcaptured/forest-fairy-captured

Tier: Pro

Fern: Self portrait
Tier: amateur (I would not consider myself professional yet)

Moody self portrait, I wanted to look "aware" but silent... Nature does not have a voice but we should be observing what happens with it, it's our responsability.

Fern (2).jpg

This is a cool shot. I love how your eyes are emphasized.

I love the framing and comp/positioning here - your eyes, face, the fern, your hands 😍

Aww thank you

aw thanks I guess because they're the only non green element in the picture, I thought of altering it but I honestly left it the way it were, picture turned out rather cool in white balance and purposedly left it so as well

elsa_inrupis.jpg

Tier:beginner

A break during a travel by foot!

Great shot, I’d like to sit there too!

My entry - a decidedly more candid shot of 2/3 of my brood; from the harried, impromptu before the bus gets here "session" in the AM on the first day of school 😅

DSC07370.jpg

Since I entered last month under the Pro tier, I'm going to stick with that this month.

https://steempeak.com/photography/@oheyo/casual-portraits-back-to-school-the-reason-i-got-into-photography

This is my entry for Thursday. Theme Portrait.
That's my youngest daughter on her way to the masquerade party.

Tier: Amateur
portrait 3.jpg

She is my princess Cami, the day before she had been sick, the next day we went for a walk and she wanted to pose next to those flowers. I was very lively. My participation is for the beginner level.

Hello happy afternoon
I leave you my contribution, a story face
Tier: Amateur
IMG_6358.jpg

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks for the directions for the portrait, they are very relevant and helpful.

Hello @derangedcontests, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!