Deranged Photography Contest - Saturday is Black and White Theme

black and white.jpg

Photo by me

Black and White

pageBreak.png

Saturday's theme is Black and White. Black and white photography is where it all started. This type of photography really focuses on capturing the essence of your subject and eliminating all of those colorful distractions. It enables you to really convey emotion in your images. It is more than just taking a picture of anything and desaturating it. Planning ahead and shooting your image for black and white can really help you when you are trying to become a better black and white photographer.

I am looking forward to seeing the images you all come up with for this theme. It is one of my favorites.

How is the Deranged Photography Contest set up?

pageBreak.png

The contest is broken up into three different tiers. Each will have a different rewards for the winners based on what tier you enter into. Here is a breakdown of the rewards based on the tiers:

PlaceProfessionalAmateurBeginner
1st100% Upvote80% Upvote60% Upvote
2nd80% Upvote60% Upvote40% Upvote
3rd60% Upvote40% Upvote30% Upvote

Each contest will be open for submissions for 6 days and close on the 7th day so that winners can be picked and the new post can be made.

What are the themes?

  • Monday - Macro
  • Tuesday - Landscapes
  • Wednesday - Wildlife
  • Thursday - Portraits
  • Friday - Sports
  • Saturday - Black and White
  • Sunday - Streetphotography

How to enter

pageBreak.png

When you enter a photo in the competition, you will state what tier you want to be judged in and locked in for the month at that level.

For example if you enter a photo, you drop the photo in the comment section, state what level of photographer you are, and then give a description of the photograph.

That's pretty much it, drop a photo in the comment section of this post and state your tier. If you want to make a separate post for your entry as well, that is fine, but for your entry to be valid, your photo and tier must be in here in the comment section of this post. If you do make a separate post, be sure to use the #photography and #creativecoin tags.

Additional Notes

pageBreak.png

  • Only one submission per contest. Extra submissions will be ignored.

  • You can switch your tier ONE time per month, but only if you are moving up into a higher tier, for example if you are currently in the amateur tier, but you think that you have a photograph that you want to enter in the professional tier, you can state that you are changing your tier to professional. You will then be locked into the new tier for the remainder of the month. You are not able to move down to a lower tier, like going from amateur to the beginner tier.

  • If you do not state which tier you want to be judged in for the month, I will leave a comment to remind you to do so, but if you don't respond, you will be assigned to a tier and locked in for that month.

  • Plagiarism will not be tolerated in any form. All submissions must be your own work. I will investigate every entry and if you are caught plagiarizing, not only will you be blacklisted from competing from any future contests, but you will be reported to @steemcleaners as well. It is not worth it to try and cheat, especially with the 3 tier set up where everyone has an equal shot of winning.

Thank you to everyone that will be participating. The contest wouldn't be around without your great submissions!

Deranged_Photography_Banner1.png

curator.png

Sort:  

My entry - one of the demonstrators (a shoemaker) at Fort Ticonderoga. The light was just right for this environmental portrait.

DSC06600.jpg

Tier: Professional

https://steempeak.com/photography/@oheyo/black-and-white-photo-shoemaker-at-work

Awesome shot. I agree, the lighting is perfect.

Thank you kindly, @derangedvisions!

My entry in BW contest. Tier - AMATEUR
Giris is probably the smartest dog in Europe.
Besides Lithuanian, he has now learned quite a few words in Russian and English ( when sometimes we must switch language to have him not understand what we talk about)
Photo made a couple yeas ago. Still - my favorite one.
https://www.photostreem.com/monomad/@onealfa/his-name-is-giris-my-entry-for-monomad-challenge-deranged-bw-contest

Been a while since my last participation in any type of photographic contest.
But what a heck, today I scored a gold legendary card in Steem Monsters, worth more than my monthly steem earnings, so I am feeling lucky!

This is my entry for the amateur tier.
Cheers!

DSC_6304-2-FN-2-ST.png

awesome on the card and stunning picture

Thank you very much, @sjarvie5 :)

I love the isolation here, and the level of detail in the sweet spot is super compelling to look at.

Thanks a lot for your kind words, @oheyo :)

I like this very much

Such a cool shot.


One of my favorite places in the United States--The Grand Tetons, Wyoming. I went with the idea of channeling my inner Ansel Adams and taking a stunning black and white picture in the same places.
Professional

Your image got third place, but was too close to payout to get voted, so I voted on one of your comments here instead. Thank you for your awesome shot.

😍Your inner Ansel shines through! Beautiful shot.

Thanks so much @oheyo

This is awesome. I still have never been there. I need to make my way up to Wyoming and check this place out.

Yes, so worth the trip.

Here's my entry:
A beginner Tire

BNW 31-AUG=-19.jpg

click image to view full screen

I'm a amateur, no doubt :). I made some photo's this week at my sons glide-fly lessons. They flew also in a glide plane from the late fifties, I transformed it to B&W and added some grain to let it look like if the photo also came from that time :)

derange.jpg

As an amateur, only so much I could produce ... a street that seems to me from the 60's. The lack of color helps this impression.


xa6fzwkwfd.jpg

This is Mousy the cat. Tier: Amateur:
539DCDD5B3344A5BA862041513BBB641.jpeg

Her Shadows


Outdoors art portrait shot at the beautiful Lithuanian forest nearby Baltic Sea coastline. Black and white version
Natural light only shooting at daytime and using shadows of the fern leaves

Excellent artistic freckled model

Enjoy the beauty!


2017_06_15_202683BW.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!


https://steemit.com/monomad/@axeman/monomad-her-shadows

Absolutely stunning. Even without you mentioning the ferns, the shadows already tell the story.

Hi friend
I don't post today because I have already put one, I leave my picture
fungi on the tree
I participate in amateur since I am not professional
happy Saturday
IMG_4789.jpg

I took this shot on a flea market last summer. I never buy stuff there but I love to walk around and see all the crazy stuff people selling.

P8180822.jpg
Tier: Amateur

Can you include your tier?

Done. Thanks for letting me know

People_of_Istanbul_001_s.jpg
People of Istanbul

Pro Tier

Moving in a bus or a tram I had little time to frame and capture the man who just stepped into the natural spotlight of the direct noon Sun. With most of the background remaining in shadow, it makes for a good B&W contrast. Well, most of it. Since it's, after all, a candid shot and I have no control over the environment, I just try to do my best.

Of course I am a beginner.. but maybe in the future when I have free time I may take photography or/and drawing lessons :)
Till then enjoy my today's capture
FREE

https://www.creativecoin.xyz/creativecoin/@katerinaramm/free

In black and white

20190831_185605bb.jpg

Great capture. Horses, Sunset, ocean, mountains, plane flying by. Got em all!

Thanks so much for dropping by!
The funny thing is that I got this photo from my smartphone without actually seeing, because the sun was opposite + I was trying not to make it evident that I was photographing the horse :)

Sometimes the best shots are unexpected!

Your image got third place, but was too close to payout to vote, so I voted one of your comments instead. Awesome shot.

Thank you so much, it is greatly appreciated. :)

caravaggio_roma.jpg

tier: beginner
This is my entry; Rome - San Luigi dei Francesi (Caravaggio's paintings)

This is beautiful. Great shot.

Thanks!!!

Hi! Here is my entry for this topic:

Tier: Amateur

Congratulations @derangedcontests! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Thank you for your contribution to the crowd. We are the Steem community project dedicated to empowering The Wisdom of Crowds. You can find more about us on our official website or whitepaper and you can support us by voting for our witness and joining our curation trail on Steemauto . We are also inviting you to join Crowdmind Discord server. Don't forget to use the #crowdmind hashtag and happy crowdsourcing!

tier - beginneur
my first entry
Vue de Grenoble
whaleblack04092019.JPG