Sweat Bee.🐝

in #photography5 years ago

My 2nd and final post for this week with my 50mm macro has me a little unsure but I feel fairly confident its a Sweat Bee. I’ll definitely welcome a more knowledgeable person’s correction here! These look a lot like one one of my favorite bees, Megachilidae but are quite a bit smaller, lack the fuzzy pollen collecting underbelly and this one particularly also has orange legs with white hairs. Usually when people think sweat bee they think of the shiny metallic green bees but there are over 3500 species of halictadae found on every continent coming in many different sizes and colors with widely differing social behaviors. They all have relatively short tongues and many as their common name implies are attracted to human sweat which they will greedily lick up if you let them!
.
.

Posted using Partiko Android