You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Patterns and designs in nature - Leaves

in #photography6 years ago

So many wonderful things to comment about in this piece.

Firstly, I think I must have never lost my 'childlike' look at life. I know I often can spend hours watching my chickens or playing with plants. I have always felt the need to get to that part of the day that is just the down time of contemplation. It is such an important part of my day that I make it a structured part on my to do list -time to sit and veg.

Plants! I love plants and green and growing things. This time of year, one of my favourites, I have my windowsills filled with growing things waiting for their time outdoors. Watching them from a tiny seed in soil placed in the cold dark of fading Winter, it always seems like they won't do anything. How can this tiny thing become a 6 foot tomato plant in Summer and give me food? But they always do and it ALWAYS excites and amazes me each time.

Ferns and Succulents are my two favourites! In fact, I just splurged and added three new variety of succulents to my collection yesterday as I will plant up pots to keep out in the sunny hot dry terrace at our house here. Many things find it hard to exist in the salty wind of our place but succulents love it.

And Ferns! I love them and the curl of the fiddleheads (which you can eat of course) are as exciting to me in Spring as is the first buds of the forsythia bushes. The front side of our house is in shade and so I have ferns and hostas there. I even have a little cottage I made over that I rent out in the summer and it is called Fern cottage, as it is also in the shade and I always try to add more ferns to its little border each Spring.

And the Fibonacci sequence is also so relevant in art. It can often be used to create the perfect composition in a painting, as it does seem to be a map to the view of perfection in our world.

I sometimes seem to lose someone on Steemit for a bit, and I don't know if you haven't posted in a bit or if I just forgot to check in, but so glad I did today! And happy you are using your little photo divider :)

Sort:  

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience Donna.
Yes, I haven't posted for a while... actually, nothing related to photography which is why I took so long to use your divider (one of the reasons which boosted me to start posting again).

I love that you allocate a "contemplation time" in your daily schedule. We so easily forget to observe, yet it is so important to keep connecting with the world around us.

Those fiddleheads are some of the fastest growing plants I've ever seen! It's almost like they unravel right before our eyes. I'd love to have a tripod, get the DSLR, and set it so it takes a photo every minute for an hour. The result would be so fun to watch :)