Heli-hike in Fox Glacier, New Zealand (2013)

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

DSC00149.JPG

When I was living in Fox Glacier in New Zealand, for being "locals" we could get to do some of the tours for free. Sometimes there would be a spare seat in the helicopter and then a local would be welcome to join the fun. What we would do is tip the pilot with a 24 pack of beers (to enjoy on their day off lol). This way we would be doing a NZD 400 tour for around NZD 40 yaay.

The pictures I am sharing today are from a Heli-Hike I did with my friend Augusto back in 2013. The Heli-Hike is a 3 hour walk on the glacier with a guide. You fly up to the glacier in helicopter, they drop you off there and leave you with your guide. And 3 hours later they come and pick you up. It is a cool tour because it mixes flying on a helicopter, which is a great experience, and also you have a hike on the ice, getting to see ice caves, blue ice, waterfalls and lots of cool stuff.

Living in New Zealand´s West Coast is tough. Weather is rough... too rough. In Fox Glacier it rains a lot, and when I say a lot I mean 6000mm a year. That is ridiculous. So... you learn how to appreciate a sunny day there. Or even a not rainy one lol. Rain has a nostalgic/melancholic feeling, it makes you think a lot. Movies and TV shows are mandatory when living in Fox Glacier 😊.

But the cool thing about living in this small town (500 inhabitants) lost in the mountains and at 2 hours from the closest city, is that you bond with your friends in a quite unique way. You get to spend a lot of time together, so friendships strengthen rapidly. Some people cannot take it, living in a small town far from everything with no malls and not even a supermarket is not for everyone. I loved it though. That is why I spent like 3 years working there as a chef in a small restaurant called "The Last Kitchen".

Another cool thing I did in fox was Skydiving. Jumping off a plane at 16000 feet with the view if the Southern Alps was one of the most exciting things I have ever done. Cool stuff. Unluckily I don´t have pictures of that day, since I was on a budget and decided not to spend the extra NZD200 for the video/pictures.

So... Here are some pictures taken with my old Sony Alpha NEX5. Hope you like them! And as I always say: Thanks for your support!


DSC00139.JPG

DSC00242.JPG

DSC00232.JPG

DSC00236.JPG

DSC00135.JPG

DSC00150.JPG

DSC00162.JPG

DSC00207.JPG

DSC00216.JPG

DSC00160.JPG

All photos were taken by me @dontstopmenow (except the last three of course)

Camera Body: Sony Alpha Nex5
Lens: Sony 18-55mm


Sort:  

that sounds like a fun adventure, you sure get around!

It was a lot of fun yeah. I miss Fox Glacier and its rainy weather.

increible!! que lugar y que experiencia! muy bueno

Si, muy buena experiencia!!

Saludos Nico!

Great photos, man!

Such a beautiful site.

Thanks mate!

Indeed, I love that part of NZ so much!

That looks so epic! What a treat for locals!

Hey Jess!

Yeah it is really cool to get those local discounts, very kind gesture from the business owners.

I have been to Newzealand..it is sooo beautiful...what an amazing trip you have..with a helicopter and walking on snow mountain what a dream! stunning photos as well..great to have experience like this

Absolutely! It was a lot of fun.

Good to hear that you have been to NZ too. Hope you also had a great time 😊

Wah no that's such a cool thing, bringing locals on for free when there's room 🙏🏼

Looks like a badass trip, especially like the one when you're meditating under the glacier 🤟🏼

Yet another thing to do when visiting New Zealand, can't wait to pay a visit ✌🏼

Otherwise, if you're into travelling, vlogs, fitness, self-development etc feel free to check out my channel, in any case keep up the good work and I'll see you around!

Yeah absolutely, there were some other things that we could do for free for being working in town.

Since Fox Glacier is so small theres a huge feeling of community, which is great.

Thanks for reading and commenting man! See you around.

nice expedition :) you got my upvote.

wow, what a cool experience, I cant wait to go there and explore, so much to do and see! and by the way really nice pictures, but it looks soooo cold!

Thanks @claudiaz !

Yeah if you ever have the opportunity to go, I highly recommend visiting New Zealand to those who enjoy outdoor activities, hiking and exploring a huge variety of landscapes.

Seems like a perfect day, blue sky, flying in a heli, hike in the white snow and safe a lot of money. Nice post, I put it on my bucketlist (try first to pay with a box of beers).

haha yeah. The blue sky was pure luck, since its quite uncommon in that part of New Zealand.

This is such a incredible environment and wow these pictures are crazy 😉 love the helicopter always wanted to go in one.
But my favorite is the one with you "meditating"
That is crazy how beautiful that place is.
Thank you for sharing. This is my absolute favorite. Cheers!