Photography: Insects of South-Africa, Part 1

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Last week I was fortunate enough to be able to go to a Holiday Resort called Dikololo. I had a blast and was able to take a lot of photos. As I am sorting through it, I have found a few fantastic shots...

Tok Tokkie Beetle

This is an interesting beetle as it can be heard making a knocking sound. It does this using its abdomen to knock on the ground or trees to find hollows...

20171205_155642.jpg

I took this photo after a rain shower at Dikololo Game resort using my Samsung J5. *

Page seperator2.PNG

Child's play

Some silly trivia, the game that naughty kids play around the world where they knock on doors then run away, has taken on the playful name "Tok tokkie" in Afrikaans.

20171205_155358-COLLAGE.jpg
(Unedited)

Page seperator2.PNG

Signature.PNG

Sort:  

Flagged for abusing the @steemgigs bot

How so? I did not realise, I have not been online for a while so I apologise... I went to promote the post like I usually do and saw that people were using the vote function. It would be useful if there was a pinned message...

I agree, but just because other people are doing something, doesn't mean you should blindly follow. The bot was set up for #steemgigs posts, but the tag is slowly dying, so I'm really not sure my "activism" means anything at all.

Considering other channels and vote bots exist, like minnowsupport for example, I do not think I was blindly following. I made an assumption since no indications exist as to why I shouldn't. But noted...

Tok tokkie was great fun when we were young @dracosalieri

It was until paint-ball guns became popular...

No we had cap guns and home made catty (slingshot) to play with.

I am not sure what to think of this comment. Are you acting penguin again?..., okay, I now remember your trivia about the children's game. Pity it is now too dangerous to play the game, and yes, paintball is now a safer option...