Sharing some selfie with the wildlife... What I love about my kids.

in #photography6 years ago

When you are a parent of 12 children, there is never a lack of personality to go around. While there is no doubt they have been affected, or more appropriately "infected" by parental behaviors, each has developed, whether we approved or not, into a very unique person. Parenting has been a cultural study for us. Six children sharing our own mixed genetics (woe unto them) and 6 who bring great diversity and genetic improvement through adoption, they are close, and good to one another and full of strength. I take no credit.

One of the things I delight in is what they find "fun" and how much this varies. Dread, my third son, who is now 17, loves to dive with me, and has had some great experiences. One of the things he finds fun is taking underwater selfies featuring some of the marine life. It brings me great joy not only to share the experiences first hand, but also to see the pictures that bring him so much joy.

GOPR0922.JPG

Dread photobombing a goliath grouper

GOPR0902.JPG

Dread sharing some selfie with a barracuda.

GOPR0929.JPG

Dread catching me on a head first decent to attack him from above. Spoil sport.

GOPR0961.JPG

You'll have to have good eyesight, but if you look to the right of the base of his snorkel (his left) you'll see the ghosty image of an approaching Reef Shark... Note his wide eyes... Dread's, not the shark's.

I thought these were cool pictures on their own merit, but since they represent the play of a young adult, finding joy in cool things, they are imbued with even greater meaning.

#underwaterphotography

Sort:  

I am now 73, a grandfather and am filled with joy as youngsters grow and explore the world around them. My life's path was set when my farther let me use his WW2 underwater re-breather in the warm clear Mediterranean sea of Cyprus where we were stationed. I was 8.
From then on I was 'acqua-man' and going underwater was to dominate my life.
I scrimped and saved every penny and with my first paycheck from my first job a bought an 'Aqua Lung', a SCUBA tank and a wet suit jacket and went to work fixing water intakes and retrieving fishing tackle.
I became a Diving Instructor in 1965 which virtually payed for my marine biology degree.
I have been around the world teaching, working and exploring the underwater world. Adventures galore, an exciting and satisfying life all because my Dad took me underwater.
Good for you.
you might like
https://steemit.com/ocean/@oldmariner/ed6ca-vintage-diving

I am a late adopter, but have fallen for the mystery and magic of the sea. I sailed as a kid... Dad was a WWII Navy Veteran. I have loved the beach my whole life. It took a dear friend to dip into the bucket list and invite me along. Now 4 of my children hold open water licenses and love to dive... and I love to share it with them, and see the marine world not only through my eyes but through theirs. Thank you for your kind reply.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #sportsphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Sunday.

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 20:54:12
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 244.06/400.00
Total Photos: 21
Total comments: 16
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank