The Legend of the beautiful girl from Pizzino - discovering another abandoned village in Italy ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡น

in #photography โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

๐ŸŒทHi Steemians!๐ŸŒท

We are still traveling through the Alps - searching for the smallest communities in Italy. And I keep having the impression that weโ€™re finding one little diamond after the other. After Cervatto and Sabbia, we are now in:

๐ŸŒฟ PIZZINO ๐ŸŒฟ

Screen Shot 2018-02-19 at 18.51.37.png

โ‚

We were actually on the road to a place called Roncobello. @creatix was travelling with us and we slowly climbed the mountains with our little Polo VW. This car is doomed to a hard life since we started filming โ€˜Fuori dal Comuneโ€™. But to be honest - even though Iโ€™m German - my love for cars doesnโ€™t reach so far that I would pity it.

โ‚

I36C2037.JPG

I36C2030.JPG

โ‚

The day is cold and we reach a village called Sottochiesa - which means underneath the church in Italian. There are just a couple of houses, a bar and a gas station. Sottochiesa is part of the Val Taleggio - famous for its adorable cheese. There is no room you can enter without somebody offering you a piece of Taleggio - which I'm terribly happy about because I love it.

โ‚

I36C1991.JPG

I36C1999.JPG

๐ŸWe find an abandoned play ground and ... well, of course go and play! With the drone, the camera and the rusty slide.๐Ÿ

I36C1994.JPG

I36C1987.JPG

I36C1995.JPG

โ‚

The gentleman at the bar told us about Pizzino - a tiny village on the top of the mountain behind Sottochiesa.
Exactly what we are searching for! So we jump back into the car and slowly drive up the hill.

โ‚

I36C2011.JPG

I36C2009.JPG

I36C2007.JPG

โ‚

After 10min of driving we see an abandoned little hut in the fields. We stop the car and start filming this lonely little house with the drone. And I kid you not, even then somebody stopped with the car, jumped out and offered us some fresh Taleggio. @creatix and Ale immediately bought 5kg of cheese and packed it into our car. The odour remains -
also one week later.

โ‚

Screen Shot 2018-02-19 at 19.03.48.png

I36C2020.JPG

โ‚

As we reach the top, we're taking the time to wonder through the abandoned streets. Well, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 streets.

โ‚

Screen Shot 2018-02-15 at 12.24.11.png

โ‚

That's it. In winter, there are even fewer families up here on the top of the mountains. Funnily enough, there were a hand full of children playing in front of the church, waiting for their first Mass after the Confirmation. I guess, the parents were much more nervous than the children themselves. I guess they prefer to stay outside rather than sitting down in the frosty church for 90 minutes.

โ‚

Screen Shot 2018-02-19 at 19.04.49.png

โ‚

As we keep wondering, we discover a story - exactly the kind of thing that I was searching for all the time!

โ‚

Screen Shot 2018-02-19 at 19.02.39.png

Screen Shot 2018-02-19 at 19.01.39.png

โ‚

โค The Legend of Lucia โค

Pizzino has a legend that every child of the Borgo knows my heart. And itโ€™s a love story like only Italians can tell it.

I36C2032.JPG

โ‚

Lucia was the most beautiful girl of Pizzino. Her hair had the color of gold and there was no limit to her kindness. Her family owned the highest house in Pizzino - on the top of the Rock. This one:

โ‚

Screen Shot 2018-02-19 at 18.54.21.png

โ‚

She was singing every day and the entire village loved to hear her songs ringing like beautiful bells in between the mountains. One day, a wounded soldier was transported to the village - he was badly hurt and in no state to be transported. His name was Enrico.

โ‚

Screen Shot 2018-02-19 at 18.52.11.png

โ‚

Luciaโ€™s family offered to care for him and so he moved into a free room inside their house - on the top of the rock - in Pizzino. He was so week that he could barely speak.

โ‚

Screen Shot 2018-02-15 at 12.18.33.png

โ‚

Lucia cared for Enrico with all heart, staying by his side, day and night.

โ‚

Screen Shot 2018-02-19 at 18.53.17.png

โ‚

And every day she cared for him, she fell deeper and deeper in love with Enrico. She loved the way he looked at her, the way he smelled...already the second after she left the room in order to fetch some water, she missed him infinitely. And she was afraid. Afraid of the day that he will have to return to the army.

โ‚

I36C2027.JPG

โ‚

Six month passed and the people of Pizzino had already accepted Enrico as one of them. Also Luciaโ€™s family loved him and hoped that he wouldnโ€™t leave. But Enrico loved his fatherland and when his wounds were healed and his strength returned, he declared to the family that he had to return to war.

โ‚

I36C2028.JPG

โ‚

And so he left Pizzino to join his army, which was stationed in Venice or somewhere in Lombardia. Nobody found out, where he went.

โ‚

I36C2016.JPG

โ‚

Lucia cried as he departed on his horse. And she didnโ€™t stop crying for six days. She also didnโ€™t sing anymore and never left the house. The people from Pizzino sometimes saw her sitting at the window and looking into the distance. Everybody knew that she waited for Enrico to return. But he didnโ€™t come.

โ‚

I36C2039.JPG

โ‚

For six month, Lucia didnโ€™t eat anything. Her beautiful face emaciated from too much worries. Will he be wounded again? Will he come back and stay? Luciaโ€™s face became the face of an old woman. All her beauty had gone. She became so thin that the light would shine through her body.

โ‚

I36C1979.JPG

โ‚

But one morning, after six month, she could hear the hoofs of a horse riding up the steep mountain from Sottochiesa to Pizzino. She knew from the first second that it was him!

โ‚

โ‚

She ran down to the street to greet him. But he only slowed down a bit. Looked at her briefly and continues his journey. He hadnโ€™t recognised Lucia, who wad changed so much out of longing for him. Lucia knew that Enrico would never return to Pizzino.

โ‚

I36C2048.JPG

I36C2036.JPG

โ‚

So she threw herself from her window - the highest window of Pizzino into the Valley of Taleggio.
THE END.

I36C2051.JPG

โ‚

I felt like I wanted to cry after reading this heartbreaking story. It is a story that people in Pizzino tell each other in a way, like they knew Lucia. They describe her suffering and how they perceived her body and soul, deprived of Enricoโ€™s love.

โ‚

I36C2058.JPG

โ‚

Rumours tell that the family living on the rock on top of Pizzino today, are still keeping the room empty - in which Enrico was healed - for the day that he might return to Pizzino.

โ‚

I36C2053.JPG

I hope you enjoyed this little story. I always love to learn about legends of far away places - does your village/ town/ city have a legend?

๐Ÿ›All the best and a big hug to all those curious Steemians out there!๐Ÿ›

Elena & Ale

Sort: ย 

Wow what an amazing photographs....loved it thank you for sharing with us

Hi @universalpro - thank you so much for your kind words! It's a pleasure!

Wow!

Pizzino looks exciting but the story almost broke my heart .

It is interesting to note that Lucia failed to care for herself because we was obsessed with waiting for Enrico, only for Enrico to pass by and not recognize her due to her emaciated look.

(sighs)

Do you mind if I use that to develop a story? My heart connects with it and I feel a plot budding inside of me.

Nice pictures by the way. Do enjoy your adventure.

Blessings

Hello @iamthegray ,

yes, exactly - that was the dramatic point where I felt the pain of love slowly sinking into my spine. Please take the story and develop it. I would love to read what you're making out of it. It is this mixture of fairytale and at the same time closeness to something we can experience today that grabbed me.

I'm excited to read what your heart pumps into your veins and makes you write!

Best
Elena ๐ŸŒท

Hiya

I've written the story: although I kinda changed some things.

https://steemit.com/story/@iamthegray/staying-at-the-castle-original-horror-story

Let me know what you think of it

Blessings

Nice post.looks like a wonderfull and magical place surrounded with mountains giving it an epic and heavenly panoramma. I always wanted to go to italy and might be sooner then later. I am a sucker for love stories. Yours really touched my heart about lucy. Thanx for sharing these beautiful photos. Will keep follow and resteem. Keep up the good work๐Ÿ‘Œ. Note: I advice you to double check your grammer before posting.

Hello @mrgranville ,

thank you very much! Calling the looks of the village an epic and heavenly panorama is really hitting the nail on the head. Where would you like to go when you travel to Italy?

xx
@elenahornfilm

P.S: I will try to improve my grammar. I'm not a native speaker - maybe I should use a software :-D.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=elenahornfilm
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=the-legend-of-the-beautiful-girl-from-pizzino-discovering-another-abandoned-village-in-italy


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

upvoted turn back

done, kind wishes, elena

thanks

The amount of beautiful cities in Italy seems endless. Even abandoned ones.

Hi @snrm , yes, you're right. It feels like I'm stumbling from one painting into the next - and I don't even have time digest it all. It's just beautiful.

xx
@elenahornfilm

This post has received a 2.52 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @elenahornfilm.

beautiful post @elenahornfilm!

Thank you very much @natureofbeing . I'm so glad you enjoyed to read it!

xx
elenahornfilm ๐ŸŒฟ

very interesting story,Pizzino must have been a wonderful experience for you.

Hello @Tofelix I am thinking of moving there! Italy is like wonderland and I don't wanna go back to Germany!! Elena

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly ๏ฟฝ Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

a pretty curious fact that I did not know

Then I'm super happy that I could share it with you, @merryslamb . I had never heard the story before either.

Interesting story and nice photos. Thank you for sharing!

Hello @yingzoe - it's a pleasure. I'm glad it brought you some joy!

As I grew up in a tiny town close to Italy (Hermagor, Carinthia) I like these Northern Italian villages and enjoyed your elaborated report and the romantic love story. There are lots of legends told in the valley Gailtal, too.

Thank you very much @martinamartini , Gailtal is in Austria, right?

What's your favorite legend from valley Gailtal - I would love to hear about it!

xxx
@elenahornfilm

Right, it is a valley in Carinthia, close to the Italian border. That's where I grew up. Eight years ago, I started collecting culture data about this marvellous region and still do - http://gailtalnetz.wordpress.com
I wish I could do more for my old home, but my life is busy.

My favorite legend is the story of the ruin Malenthein:
https://gailtalnetz.wordpress.com/besonderheiten/kraftorte-kirchen/die-annenkapelle-am-guggenberg-nahe-kuehweg/

The legend is about a very selfish mistress of Malenthein Castle who was cursed by a rejected beggar whom she had humiliated. He shouted to her, "Soon you'll eat from a bony table, too."

Soon afterwards the castle was completely destroyed in a terrible thunderstorm with fire and the rich woman lost all her belongings. She had to ask for alms herself and eat her meals on a "leg table", because she no longer had a table or an armchair.

;)

Hi @martinamartini ,

wow, I had never heard about the legend of the ruin Malenthein! Fabulous! Thank you for sharing it with me.

I would like to show you the trailer of the little documentary we are working on. It takes places in exactly these almost abandoned places.

I'm curious about what you say about it - as a mountain expert :-) .

xx
@elenahornfilm

ย 6 years agoย (edited)ย 

Oh, great work! And so typical. Typical everywhere. If you go to Hermagor and interview my mother, she would tell you the same... and in the small villages, once you had life everywhere but now big farmhouses are let alone and empty.
I am happy that I moved to the Burgenland. It was once like that but here the situation gets better. Strange.
I enjoyed listening to these people. I understand Italian quite well but without practice I am too shy to speak.
Have you been in the Val Aupa and the Resia Valle? You should visit Kaspar Nickles. I once invited him for a speech but thatโ€˜s a long story. His website: http://de.tiereviere.net/ This would fit perfectly! Thank you and regards!

https://santonina.wordpress.com/berichte/last-man-standing/

Enjoyed the views and your story, thankyou.

Congratulations @elenahornfilm! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Hello @elenahornfilm your pist upvoted and resteemed

Hi @anoopsingh - fantastic, thank you so much! I wish you a fantastic day.

Just started following you - as a fellow filmmaker!

xx
@elenahornfilm

What a beautiful small village and its photos! Enjoyed them a lot, thanks. Followed you :)

ย 6 years agoย (edited)ย 

Hello wonderful @sujisyndrome , thank you for your feedback - do you intend to travel to Italy any time soon?

If you're such a photography lover, I'm sure you'll enjoy @appics that will launch soon! #appics.

๐ŸŒท

great photo essay and nice that you can weave a cool story through it...

Thank you very much @cavesson !

Yes, such a dramatic legend - heartbreaking!!

Great post :) thanks for sharing

Hi @hectorjoachim , thank you so much - it's a pleasure!

This post has received a 3.04 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @elenahornfilm.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly ๏ฟฝ Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Promote this post well because is so great and a lot of effort๐Ÿ‘โญi love the photos as well
Upvoted and followed You๐Ÿ˜€

Hi @robkas - thank you so much. Yes, I put a lot of effort. Thank you! It's wonderful when people notice that.

xx
@elenahornfilm

wow cross country italian road trip thats epic enjoy wonderful pictures !!!

Hello @wovenone - thanks a lot - yes, cross country and cross moutains! :-)

Sangat indah dan menyenangkan.

๐Ÿฌ๐Ÿฌ๐Ÿฌ

I LOVE abandoned places! You'll find a few abandoned places on my feed as well. This is spectacular and I now want to visit it too :-) Your title says 'another abandoned village', so I'm going to look if I can find more posts like this on your feed ;-) Thanks for sharing and inspiring! Love all the details in your photos!

Hello dear @soyrosa ,
we certainly share this love for abandoned places. It's such a space of phantasy and potential.

I just read your post on the Bechdel-Test and decided to follow you! I'm happy to see what you will report on next!

xx
@elenahornfilm

Thanks for checking out my post and the follow! I clicked the follow-thingy yesterday, so we'll see each other around I guess! :D

Hi @soyrose - here you can see the trailer of the story we are working on - in case you're interested:

That is truly gorgeous work! Lovely shots of the village in the mountains, touch 'real' people... I'm looking forward to the end result! :-)

Thank you very much @soyrosa - I'm so happy you like it. I'm always nervous showing a new work to people.

xx

just read your 1,000 followers post and then made it over here! Congrats! Happy I stumbled across your steem blog and excited to follow along your adventures! These are gorgeous photos and great stories. I'm over here in Portland, Oregon... I'm sure there are legends, but not nearly as old or captivating as some of these!

Hello @taylerworrell , how is it life in Portland at the moment? Surely equally cold like here in the Alps! I would love to hear about the legends from Portland. I have never been there - something I certainly have to change!

xx
@elenahornfilm

it is cold! we just got hit with a bout of snowโ€” and the city is never prepared for it! it's actually quite nice because the city gets much more quiet and beautiful <3

Yes, snow can be like a blanket of peace !

Nice photography! I really like that first and third shot a lot.

The playground in the fog must have been fun for photos, too. We used to have playground equipment like that where I live, but most of it has been removed and "safe" equipment installed in its place. The old stuff was much more fun!

Poor Lucรญa... I remember hearing sad local stories like that, when I lived in southern Spain.

Very nice work and lovely photography :-)

Hello dear @fotodenada, thank you very much for your kind comment.

Yes, the playground was great fun to photograph and film. You could almost feel the ghost of the children who used to run around here.

Lucia's story is heartbreaking. It only really got to me in the moment that I wrote it down.

I'm so happy that you enjoyed the story!

xx
@elenahornfilm

I love this post. Continue sharing this kind of post. Thank you

Hi @bizgenz - I will make sure to keep on posting about these abandoned places. Thank you!

Nice pictures and stories.

Hi @gsm1974 - I'm very glad you enjoyed it!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by elenahornfilm from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Nice pic. This post has received a 100 % upvote from @varrazirizqi thanks to: @elenahorfilm . Ur post its amazing. I follow u.

Hi @varrazirizqi , thanks a lot! I'm so happy to read this!

U r welcome @elenahornfilm โ˜บ๏ธโ˜บ๏ธโ˜บ๏ธ