The power of beavers

in #photographylast year

Hello dear Hive friends, I wish you a nice day and hope you are all doing well and made interesting experiences! Recently I passed an area that is also the habitat of beavers and could see the power of these animals!

_DSC5602.JPG

In addition to the tracks, I would have liked to present you pictures of the animal, but unfortunately they were not visible as beavers are nocturnal and can best seen in the evening or morning twilight. The distribution area is mainly Europe or North America and they are usually found near waters such as rivers or lakes and can reach a size of up to one meter or more as well as a weight between 5-30 kg.

_DSC5604.JPG

_DSC5580.JPG

I just find it incredible to see what energy and power beavers have to leave such traces. It is definitely not everyday to be able to see something like that and it was a real pleasure for me! The beaver can cut down a tree with a diameter of the stem of about 30 cm in one night and they generally cut down trees to get food or build dams. By the way, beavers feed mainly on branches, blossoms, leaves and bark.

_DSC5600.JPG

Beavers usually build the entrance to their sleeping place underground near water in order to better protect themselves from their natural predators. The natural enemies are wolves, bears or birds of prey, but the biggest enemy of beavers has always been the human who often persecuted and hunted them because of the fur.

_DSC5595.JPG

_DSC5582.JPG

The scientific name of beavers is Castoridae and the name is associated with the Latin word castrare, which is as much as cut off. Beavers are also symbolically very well known and a sign of creativity or productivity and it is also often symbolized in many different coats of arms.

_DSC5578.JPG

Many thanks for stopping by and I hope you like my post! I used my camera Sony Alpha 6000 and Sony SEL-55210 Telephoto Zoom Lens (55-210mm) to take these pictures.

Sort:  

Yes, they are powerful and also has a lot of skill. Unfortunately, we don't have them here in South Africa, where I stay.

I can only agree with that! Some animals are often simply underestimated. Have a nice day :)

 last year (edited) 

Like the post on this type of living creature that counts as second largest of rodents in the world creature.

Thank you for adding more information to my post! I didn’t know that either :) I wish you a pleasant day dear @qwr

Nice, looking wonderfull beavers with lot of beneficial qualities.
hope you have also a great day.

Happy that you like my post! My day is okay and yours? Thanks for asking.

Another great and amazing post by you. I always learn something new from your posts. Its looks so much strong. Have a nice day.

I am always happy about your motivating words :)

Thanks alot.