A Spectacular Sunrise at Mesa Arch - Canyonlands, USA

in #photography6 years ago

Canyonlands National Park is a breathtaking location and after visiting, I can definitely see why so many people flock to the famous Mesa Arch.

Admittedly, I was hesitant to visit because I knew it was going to be a crowded shooting experience. But after scouting the location thoroughly the afternoon before, I realized how perfectly the arch would frame the unique and vast landscape beyond. While scouting, I also relied on the PhotoPills app on my iPhone to perfectly predict the exact location of the sunrise. I felt that the key to this shot was to frame the scene with incorporating a strong star burst on the rising sun.

Using the Fujifilm GFX 50s and being fixed at 18mm was also a fun challenge, as it made me spend extra time placing my tripod in the perfect position and at the precise height to frame the entirety of the arch itself. It was also awesome to be able to zoom so far into the infinite details of the landscape. Let’s just say that I’m very impressed with this medium format camera!

Elia-Locardi-GFX-50s-23mm-Mesa-Arch-2048.jpg

Fujifilm GFX 50s | GF 23mm | f/22 | 1/4 Sec | ISO 100

©Elia Locardi www.EliaLocardi.com

Sort:  

Amazing photo. If it's truly you Elia then I followed you. Looking forward to seeing more of your photos

Thanks! It's definitely me. I'm just getting started here today. :)

Great, have a good time here :)

Awesome shot. Well done bro

Very nice pic with balanced shadows. Feels like I am there.

This is a very cool view we have here.
Isn't nature beautiful?

Nice picture. I wont to wake up tomorow with a vieuw like that, but here in belgium it will only be a dream😏