Love portrayed in four photos

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

One of my favorite activities as a child - and even now - was to look into the photograph albums: to see my mom, my dad, my brother, from a different perspective to the everyday basis, from the artistic eye that at the same time is full of love because they were photographs made by friends, family, couples, made me love them.

The affection mixed with what I have learned from photography, has led to results that satisfies me, more because I feel that I recognize physically what they have given me, giving them a present, than the photographs.

My brother when he was a child, cut into four parts, none of them can coincide with each others, floating in the hallway of my house, which was once the hallway of his house too.


I wanted to intervene this photographs because, besides I think it's a good way to learn about new stuff in photography, I could see the people I love closely, editing them and looking for they're essence not to get lost in the past, but no forgetting about this one either.

My brother Ernesto now, with his I as a child. Me, looking for similarities and differences. Two people that were the same once, but now are strangers. Full moon and crescent moon.


I find in these two photos, someone that was loved and is still loved so much that his photos were kept until now; and me: I love him so much that I have united two stages of his life, childhood and adulthood, the Ernesto that needed to be taken care, and the one that has to take care of someone else, because he is a dad, are in the same place.

These two photos (the one that is on a hallway and this) were the first ones I used to make compositions and those that gave me the idea to keep doing this with other photos.

The brother I could not meet as a child because I was not here yet, I could finally approached him a little doing this exercise.

My boyfriend Silvio in blue with some patches in gray, showing that he's both beautiful and unperfect


I know that in what I write, what I feel for him gets lost because my words are addressed to an audience and not to the one I really want to read my words of affection.

Thanks to him I have been able to make these compositions, because he teaches me photography, to edit and because he loves me more than anything.

I find in him more than one Silvio and very little I would do trying to portray him because far are the photographs to the reality. I can try to show a moment of him, in which he looks at me because I call him when he is distracted, but after the click there is another story.

I return little by little what he teaches me, to give him back the time he dedicates to me so I can learn.

My mom when she was eighteen, with my eyes instead of hers with two red-blue squares on the sides of her head, meaning that we can look similar but we won't ever be the same one, and that's ok.


Finally, the one who has taken care of me and taught me, I join her for the first time in a literal way and I find that, although I am not the same as she was at 18, I can physically find things in which we are similar and that show that she is really my mother and I am her daughter.

I can't do anything but wish I keep finding things from her that are in me.

Part of her story is also mine, and what I do not remember, she can tell. I portray her because she's beautiful and I want to remember her since she was 18 to 50 year old, whether I was there or not, with the photos that she leaves me and I take,
It's enough.