You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SH-BOOM! Being a Tourist in ones own Town - Vintage Feelings

in #photography5 years ago

Yes, buildings are the public relations, the expressions which speak for themselves as well as the intentions of what decision makers want to broadcast into the world. A building says: Look at me, here I am and I stand for a particular message. As nobody can walk along and oversee it. All emperors of the past have used that tool to demonstrate power. For both, the bad and the good. I see that you see that, too.

I may sound merciless but terror strikes I am unwilling to pay my attention to, as they are an extreme form of wanting attention and pointed at the established or hated power structures by hurting the innocent. People are caught by them too emotionally and then make decisions out of fear or revenge. That is wrong and pays into what extremists are up to.

But of course, if you were near such an incident you might think differently.

I have never been to India. I decided about eight years ago not to take a plane again. It's actually a personal thing, my own contribution to protect the environment but I do not judge others who use air crafts. Everyone must know what he does. Theoretically I could visit India by ship or by train. But I guess that would be far too expensive and it would be a decision well thought through and nothing like a vacation just for fun and little money. Measured by German standards, I am a poor earner. But I don't feel poor. Cause my environment is rich and there is so much one can live off for years and years before everything is used up and worn out.

Taj Mahal is an impressive and beautiful building. I've seen numerous pictures and admired it a lot. In the same way I admire the garden of one of the houses in the village I grew up. The gardening skills of that family are gorgeous and I wonder why nobody copied their style. It should be a role model for the other villagers but I think as long as not a significant number of house owners copy that style, things remain as they are. People are habit "monsters" :)