Make Me Sweat

in #photography4 years ago

sweat1.jpg

One Sunday at the end of the summer, noon, heatwave set over the city. It's been lasting for days, feeling like weeks. No rain in sight, no wind in the air. Everything is standing still, only a weird slow hum in the air, not sure if it is a sound, or a feeling. You can see the hot air slowly moving, distorting the reality. Sun shining through a sheer cloud cover.

The City looks almost post-apocalyptic, people already fled the pressing air of the city to their cottages in the country, and a dust is settling in. It feels like you are the only one left. A much better feeling than being alone in a city full of people.

You are not sure if you slept at all last night, yet feel like you've slept for an eternity. You have all the time in the world to be alone with your thoughts, but nothing really sticks to your mind and you keep drifting into light sleep.

Waking up to take a cold shower, or to fetch some ice cubes from the freezer. Letting them melt in your hand and against your neck, forming little streams down your body.

Throwing on a little sun dress and sandals, slowly walking to the nearest store to get some ice-cream. Pressing your forehead against the freezer doors while choosing your flavour. Ben and Jerry's Cookie Dough it is. You know you should eat some proper food but the heat killed your hunger. The Cashier hardly says anything, neither of you is really present.

Returning to your bed, sheets sticking to your skin, though you are not really bothered by it. All your senses are dulled in a somewhat serene way. Only deep under your skin, is a little flutter of electricity, waiting to be released.

Already midnight when it finally rains. Falling asleep to the lulling sound of it.

sweat2.jpg

sweat3.jpg

sweat4.jpg


A bit of summer dreaming. Repost from three years ago. Hand up if you remember it!

Sort:  

Black suits you pretty well too actually! :)

Stop it!
.
.
.
.
.
Nah, just kidding, don't.

I kinda like the dark hair...Reminds me of the Eve of old.

Legit!

I was snow white for some 10 years but I feel like the lighter colour is more forgiving on me :)

The lighter blonde is legit, for sure. I like the darker though...Not better, it's just different. Both are legit.

Looking good

Hand down... I don't remember it :)

I don't think we were acquainted back in my early days of Steemit.

I wasn't around three years ago, but I'm glad you reposted. Great writing and photos!

I'll try to bring back a few posts I think are worthy of reposting :)

Please do! 🙂

Drip, drip! I can tell she thurstay!

For sure 😂😅

I see you! Great pics!

Beautiful photos

Wow fantastic photos.