Winter forest

in #photography5 years ago

One of my favourite passtimes, when I am not in my workshop, is to walk in the nearby forest.

It is equally pleasent and nice at wintertime as in summertime. Cold and damp but still very beautiful.

It was below zero centigrade when we started and the trees and ground was covered in white, but as the hours went by it became warmer (as in just above freezing) and most of the frost disappeared.

The fairly thick layer of ice on the lake remained though. We went out on the small jetty (or whatever such a construction is called when it is not for ships but only for swimming) and we could see that someone had been ice swimming, because the ice was broken around the steps. A few of our friends do this, but I have yet to take that step. I probably wont. I like to do it when there is a sauna close by, so I can get warm quickly. This lake is in the middle of the forest and if you want to get warm you will have to make a fire.
I think what people usually do, is take the bike out there, then "swim" and bike home. It is app. 5 km. from our house so most people will have a little less to go, since we live almost in the opposite part of the town. At least thats what we do in the summer time, either run or bike out there and home.

Unfortunately I forgot to get images of the "jetty" and the broken ice, so you will just have to take my word for it, but anyways , we didnt go in. We just admired the somewhat foggy , but beatiful view of the frozen lake and wait for summer before we go swimming.

Im EvilHippie, a compulsive creative and jack o' trades. If you want to know more about me, check out my introduction post here

If you like what you see, feel free to upvote, follow and resteem
or you can check out my accounts on these sites:

Cults3d
Thingiverse
Shapeways

Sort:  

I love a good ramble. I am missing my English countryside rambles, as it has been too bloody cold here in New England to really enjoy one.

this one was cold too, at least by danish standards, but there was no wind to speak of which helps a lot.