More pinky cactus flowers - Mammillaria haageana

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

I completely lost track in what cacti flowers I was showing here and which ones I didn't yet. In early spring there was so many flowers opening and I just kept shooting and shooting and leaving the photos for later. I will try to catch up a bit before the next season.

Mammillaria haageana


Mammillaria haageana flowers 2.jpg

I got this one in a very handy and very cheap cactus six-pack. Yep... they sell those here like that. And out of all 6 little cacti this was my favourite from the start. In case I got the name wrong, please correct me. They all came with a name "cactus".
I just love those tiny, neatly arranged spines. The flowers are pretty pink and if you are lucky they will bloom in a nice round circle around the body. I almost got it right!

Mammillaria haageana flowers 1.jpg

Mammillaria haageana flowers 3.jpg

It is still a very small cactus, which is fine - it takes less space. But if you google it, you will see how nice it grows to a big specimen.

Now that I think of it... I think Mammillarias are the largest group of cacti I have. And most of them come from regular supermarkets. Often I get a cactus not even knowing what it is just 'cause I like it and turns out to be another mammillaria. Such huge diversity among them!

Few days later:

Mammillaria haageana flowers 4.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.

»»-------------¤-------------««

REGISTRATION | UPVOTE VALUES | NEW MEMBERS BONUS

To support the project
vote for @qurator as a Steemit witness on
steemit.com, or SteemConnect
Thank you.

Sort:  

The third one down is my favorite!

Thanks! :) Most patient models ;)

I have one like this although it's much bigger and remains horizontal

I think I remember yours. Nice big one :)
This one will be bigger eventually. I hope.