Rockin' Times.....Rock Fest 2017 part 3

in #photography7 years ago

Good morning fellow Steemians. Well this has been a WILD weekend and today is day three of the festival and the final day as well. I'm glad it's coming to an end, but I'm sad at the same time. This has been a wonderful experience for me as this was my first Rock Fest festival held here.

SUNSCREEN, SUNSCREEN, SUNSCREEN!!
The weather was better than perfect. Not a cloud in the sky and a nice breeze to keep the temps in check. Of course, being a southern boy now living in the north, I like it hotter than most. And I will have to say that there were plenty of folks who forgot what sunscreen is and what it is used for because be the end of the day there were some wicked sunburns and I would estimate that at least 40% of the attendees had some form of sunburn. And I saw some terrible burns today. There were 2 that stand out in my mind that were probably 80%body coverage and a 2nd degree burn. I will post one of them in the pics below.

Besides the sunburns I think that the fans had a marvelous time....well those who remember it that is as the beer and liquor flowed pretty freely. I think that there were actually people who were never really sober from the time they arrived, and might not be for a few days after this event. And I will have to say that I did have call the paramedics for one soul who was definitely in distress, but once we got him up, drinking water, and then put him to bed, (it was 11am), we believed he would be able to make it to the shows later in the evening. All in all I think that the fans were amazing. Even with the amount of alcohol that was flowing, everyone was on their good behavior, and I only heard of a couple of fights from some of the security guards that I know. And let me tell you, to only have a couple of incidents with this many people, drunk people, in a area like this is truly nothing short of amazing. My hats off to the fans and security for all they did to keep it under control.

I would like to have some stats on the logistics of what it took to make this weekend happen. From the amount of porta potty's, to the cases of beer and liquor, to the amount of staff that was needed to pull this off. Because let me tell you....this isn't just calling a bunch of friends and having a get together. This is 10's of thousands of people, thousands of cases of beer, thousands of cases of liquor, water stations, venders, security, gate sales, parking attendants, and the list goes on. I think that I will see if I can get the sats for this and do a follow up blog. (shoulder shrug) Who knows....

Ok, enough of the rambling, on with the pics of day 3 of Rock Fest 2017.....

ROCK FEST 7-14-17-1.jpg
Someone lost their souvenir cup, or maybe their head from the night before

ROCK FEST 7-14-17-4.jpg
The first folks in the pool @ 10am!! Perfect weather for it too.

ROCK FEST 7-14-17-5.jpg
I think I mentioned paramedics? This is the poor soul as he was on his way down for the count....

ROCK FEST 7-14-17-7.jpg
The fans were so great as they stood in line under the beating sun to be in the pit for the shows .

ROCK FEST 7-14-17-13.jpg
ROCK FEST 7-14-17-12.jpg
ROCK FEST 7-14-17-.jpg
And YES, They even perform weddings at this festival. And this couple got hitched there. CONGRATS!!!

ROCK FEST 7-14-17-8.jpg
ROCK FEST 7-14-17-6.jpg
ROCK FEST 7-14-17-1.jpg
ROCK FEST 7-14-17-2.jpg
ROCK FEST 7-14-17-3.jpg
The fans had a great time!!

ROCK FEST 7-14-17-21.jpg
This is John and Ona. Ona dressed in different colors everyday of the festival and they were a great couple to be around!

ROCK FEST 7-14-17-20.jpg
ROCK FEST 7-14-17-22.jpg
People used umbrellas to stay out of the sun or would take advantage of the misters to cool off.

ROCK FEST 7-14-17-16.jpg
ROCK FEST 7-14-17-18.jpg
ROCK FEST 7-14-17-19.jpg
There were games and fun for everyone.

ROCK FEST 7-14-17-9.jpg
Did I mention sunburns? I don't know if you can tell from the pic, but this poor girls arms were COOKED!!

ROCK FEST 7-14-17-15.jpg
ROCK FEST 7-14-17-23.jpg
ROCK FEST 7-14-17-3.jpg
Just a few pics of the great people here.

So this wraps up Rock Fest 2017. I will do a final post as for what my thought were of the overall experience and I will see if I can get some of the logistics of what it takes to put this together. You know things like beer, liquor, water bottles, porta potty's, be cause I'm curious as heck to know myself.

So once again, I hope that you liked the pics that I posted and that you like the commentary. Don't forget to smash that upvote button and follow me. I will follow you as well and upvote your posts.

Have a great rest of your weekend!!

FJ

Sort:  

Beautiful photography I must admit.

Elrond Huston Aka ehuston

Thank you @ehuston. I appreciate that.

Looksdelicioussdfsfdsfsdfs

Hello! I just upvoted you! I help new Steemit members! Upvote this comment and follow me! i will upvote your future posts! To any other visitor, upvote this post also to receive free UpVotes from me! Happy SteemIt!