Alhambra in Monochrome (Original Photography)

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Good Saturday, colleagues!

It has been four years since my last year living and teaching in beautiful Andalucía, but I have been re-working some of the photos into monochrome for a variety of reasons; one being to share here on Steemit.

MNM13111620131116-EOS_6990.jpg
La Alhambra de Granada

The Alhambra is a palace is a UNESCO world heritage site located in the city of Granada, in Andalucía, Spain. The building was originally constructed by the Moors, the Muslim forces that invaded and conquered almost the entire Iberian Peninsula in 711. It continued to be developed and, eventually, became an amazing palace and grounds. Granada was the last bastion of Muslim control and was re-taken in 1492. Over five centuries later, the buildings and grounds are well taken care of and open to the public.

MNM13111620131116-EOS_6831.jpg
Maravilla de una ventana
The detail work in the building is incredible. It almost seems every inch of the walls is covered in scrolling geometric patterns.

MNM13111620131116-EOS_6810.jpg
Fuente de los leones
This famous fountain was, apparently, a marvel of plumbing back in its time. The plaza and fountain are, perhaps, the most visited place in the entire palace. To get this shot, free of people, I bought a ticket for the first tour time of the day and practically ran through the first six rooms. Living in Ronda, I was close enough to visit on a whim, so I had seen the other rooms before.

MNM14032320140323-EOS_0227.jpg
Would look great in my apartment
Chairs aren't a common thing, here. I'm not sure if this was a throne or not, but it is certainly ornate!

MNM14032320140323-EOS_0245.jpg
Wall Detail
Here's a closer look at the details on the wall. The light coming in through an opening really set off the detail, though none of the other visitors seemed to notice it.

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

tag.jpg

Sort:  

These photographs of the Alhambra look wonderful in black and white @fotosdenada. It's a great collection and looks to be an amazing place. 😊

Thank you. It's one of the must-see sites in Spain, and a great place to be as a photographer :-)

Yeah. We got fairly close to visiting in it on Christmas @fotosdenada when we were staying in the region but in the end we went to Rhonda for the day instead, which was a bit closer.

We had a great day in Rhoda though so we didn't mind. 😁

Ronda is beautiful. I lived there for a year and never wanted to leave.

Would look great in my apartment

hahah like 4 of them, on the breakfast tabl. the last one the shadow make it mysterious like the first one to. like it something there.

I bet they would be a little upset if they caught me walking out with it :-)

Oh too fun, I LOVE your titles for your photos! Made me chuckle with the wee chair that would look great in your apartment lol.
Love you telling what you had to do to get that great photo (the dog fountain :)
Now I'm going to have to check out my photos in monochrome vs b&w. I've never used monochrome before.

Thanks!

Haha "dog fountain!" Well, the sculptor had obviously never seen a living lion, but that's what they're supposed to be, apparently. I wouldn't have guessed correctly either!

Black and white can be interesting, but it changes the emphasis to the textures and forms. I use higher contrast and sharpness when processing monochrome.

Yayyyyy you got curied again!!! #3??? Too cool and so well deserved!!!

Thanks for explaining the monochrome!!

Thanks! I think it is the third :-)

That is amazing detail. It's amazing what people created in days of old without the technology we have now. I love the fountain. It reminds me of bears but I see it's suppose to be lions. I do think that focusing on photography really helps you appreciate certain sights better. Like you said, most visitors didn't notice the light or details but you did as you took pictures.

Thanks. Photography does help you see things a little differently. I had also been there a couple times before, so I wasn't as concerned with seeing anything in particular... other than getting that photo of the "lion" fountain without people in the shot, anyway!

Hi fotosdenada,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

Congratulations @fotosdenada! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I had to stop by to see what you've been up to....beautiful job with these b&ws. And of course your humor comes through nicely....hehe....You make me smile :)

See you soon "ish".

Thanks! I would love to live in the area again and revisit a few of these places. And find some new ones, of course!

I was wondering if you had decided to take a Steembreak.

Yes, I decided to be off for the summer and take time to have some vacation on the beach or day tripping. I probably won't be posting but I'll be checking in every now and again. :)

That sounds nice! Social media detox!

Wow Amazing photography .. You can also check my Photos