Something New (Original Photography)

in #photography4 years ago

Hello!

After nearly a decade with the Canon 7D, it finally happened. No, it didn't fail or short-circuit. It's built like a tank and still going strong. It is sitting alone in a back-up camera bag, though... because I upgraded to the Canon EOS RP!

MNM20060520200605IMG_0021.jpg
I Love Lamp!

Those of you who keep up on Canon gear may ask "Why the RP?" Well! Canon is releasing two new mirrorless cameras soon, but neither is what I'm after. Eventually, they will release the one that I want. The rumors are saying early next year. Getting the RP gives me a huge upgrade and means I'll have a very capable back-up when I do get that higher-end model.

MNM20060620200606IMG_0065.jpg
Chaperone Duty

If you haven't noticed a huge difference in the photos, that's not much of a surprise. The sharpness and color are richer, but it's difficult to see the differences on the screen. Some of the main differences have to do with ease of taking photos. The auto-focus is obviously much superior to the old 7D. I also discovered the viewfinder can zoom in to help with focus. The biggest impact has been on macro photos, so far.

MNM20060620200606IMG_0113.jpg
"You have been pollinated. Punk."

Getting this in focus with my previous camera would have had more to do with luck than anything else! Now, I can zoom the viewfinder in to make sure the focus is spot-on.

MNM20060520200605IMG_0032.jpg
Bubble Bath for your Insides

And what better way to test a new camera than to go to one of the few bars that's open? Tables were spread out, wait staff had masks, and the beer is flowing again!

MNM20060620200606IMG_0081.jpg
"Calves these days..."

I hope to be able to start replacing my lenses with those designed specifically for this system, soon. We'll see how much I can save up. For now, I am using an adapter to use my EF system lenses. The upgrade to the Canon EOS RP was made possible by a combination of savings and an unexpected birthday gift.

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

BlogtagOrange.jpg

Sort:  

How cool is that! Congrats on the new camera. Looks to me like you do know how to use it already. These photos are quite magnificent!
I hope this means you will be out playing with the camera and taking more photos, and therefore posting more often. I miss you when you are not here!

Well, yes and no... The basics are always the same, but the more technical features are going to take awhile. I did get it paired with my phone for about twenty seconds to try that. I'm not sure how much battery that will drain, but it may save me some mosquito bites down the road :-)

The tech is always a challenge! It makes me hang on to the old familiar stuff longer than I sometimes need to! Thank goodness my kids are so helpful and willing to get things set up for me! My son gave me a new Chromebook for Christmas and when I took it out of the box he already had it all set up and ready to go! All I had to do is turn it on and it worked just like my old one had. That's the kind of technology I am best at!

I just got a new pixel3 phone and it is the same as my daughter's, intentionally! She has been very helpful in explaining how to use many of the features that it has.

I spent a lot of years teaching them, now it's their turn to teach me!

Oooh, a new Chromebook sounds nice! The Pixel sounds even better, though. Is it sad that I bought a phone for the camera? Good to hear your children are providing some quality tech support!

The new camera is amazing in a lot of respects. I do miss being able to leave it off and still see through the view finder on the 7D. It made a great monocular, with the big tele lens.

My kids are wonderful and provide me with the greatest tech and tech support to go with it!

I'm picturing one of those guys that I have seen on TV with a monocular hanging on a delicate chain around their neck.it would be fitting for you to have a more substantial strap and a camera hanging there and putting it to your eye and looking quizzically at someone!👁️

That is exciting! Looking forward to seeing the pictures.

Now I just need to trade up my lenses for the new versions designed for the system! At least the adapter works amazingly well for the old ones.