Blast from the Past [ 1950's Volkswagen camper van ]

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

When I was younger, me and my cousins used to play a game of "knock-the-head". The game is simple, the first person to see a Volkswagen Beetle will knock the head of the other one who saw it last. I would say it's a painful game to play, you know how kids play right? It gets rough all the time.

A few days ago, I was on this event where part of the displays are the classic Volkswagen cars. I was hoping to see a variety of Beetle models, unfortunately there wasn't any of it. Instead, the displays are the model from 1950's which is the Volkswagen Type 2. This model come in many names like Transporter, Kombi, or Microbus. It's funny enough to call it a bus because nowadays the size of it is not comparable to the present day minibus.

01.jpg

VW Kombi with Raffles City skyline behind

This cute looking VW Bus model has been interpreted as a toy, I remember having this when I was a young boy.

Have you ever wonder how did this VW bus came to its beginning? Now, on this coming facts I will be a going through the history a little bit. The model was actually made for the working class of the post WW II Germany where it’s mostly used as a transporter of goods.

02.jpg

VW Bus Type-2 with Marina Bay Sands hotel at the background

You might have noticed the prominent V-shape line that split the front of the VW bus. Did you know it wasn't intended for aesthetic purpose? In fact it was only added due to the poor aerodynamics of the first prototype. This added feature improved the drag coefficient compared to the VW Type-1 “Beetle”. The V-shaped feature also helps the VW Bus to maintain a decent speed on the highway.

03.jpg

VW Kombi in red and black paint

From then, the production of VW Bus has progress for over half a century, thanks to its popularity made by the hippies culture. It became a top choice due to its availability and low cost, not to mention its cute looks. It gained more popularity when it was featured on Bob Dylan’s album “The Freewheelin” which paved it’s way to the pop culture.

04.jpg

VW Kombi with National Gallery Singapore at the background

It’s popularity was also recognized through its functionality, it’s spacious and the parts are easy to maintain. Because of this, it was easily categorized as a camper bus. Its practical qualities made it easy to be converted into a perfect camping vehicle. The spacious interior can house a bed, stove, table and chairs, and it was also air-conditioned. Basically, it’s a home within a bus which made it famous to the ones who love a camping lifestyle.

05.jpg

VW Kombi with "Kombi Rocks light on top"

Nowadays, you might not see it as a practical camper bus due to its smaller capacity compared to the modern day versions, which are larger. But its iconic appeal can still be seen as displays to events like the ones I recently attended – “The Light to Night Festival”. It was a big hit for the millennials, probably because they never seen it before. Not to mention the cute looks of this compact VW bus which became real pop culture icon. Those reasons alone made this VW Type-1 model survived a 64 year journey and there’s no doubt that this icon has a special spot in our nostalgic fantasies.

06.jpg

VW Type-2 Bus displayed in front of National Gallery

07.jpg

VW Kombi with visitors photo shoot

I hope you enjoyed the nostalgia brought by these classic VW Kombi displays.

Have a good day / night everyone!


Cover photo option 3 - resize.jpg


All original photos by author @funtraveller


References:

History of the Volkswagen Bus

End of the road Volkswagen camper

Volkswagen camper van marks 60 years of production

Sort:  

We wanted one of these with a pop up top for sleeping. How cool!

Yes, its perfect if you want to go for an adventure ;-) classy & compact. Thanks for dropping-by im glad that you like it too.

Hi @funtraveller you are very handsome..like your heart..Nice to know you my friend..If you visit aceh..call ok..hehe.

You're truly kind my friend. Thanks for visiting my post.

During the 1970's my husband's parents travelled across Canada in a blue VW camper, named Betsy. Got so cool photos of them camping in the mountains. They had a grizzly bear scare the one night...

Awesome! except for the bear hehe, that must be a great adventure, ive been dreaming of that since i saw these VWs, cross country with it :-)

Nice post. My parents drove with us across the USA and Canada for 8 weeks, with 5 kids in one of those!

Wow! Sounds like an amazing road trip. How i wish i could do that now.

This looks like such a fun event! I find these VW vans really cute. Have always seen these in movies like Little Miss Sunshine and Footloose, and thought it would be so much fun to go on a road trip in this. Not sure how comfortable this is but definitely full marks for the looks and the cool, bohemian vibe!

That would be great! I think i saw one video of a guy in youtube - he's travelling south america using type of van. I think he learned to feel comfortable in it although its compact. Hehe. Thanks for your feedback :-)

I love these VW Camper Vans ... want to buy one some day. Saving my Steem dollars for one.

Same here! Lol. My major cashout will be for this one as well - even though it may take a year or so... hehe

Wow an old model of Volkswagen 🤩 Too lucky you saw one

Yeah! I consider myself lucky - didn't expect that they have these VWs on display :-)

Guess it really is your destiny to see one 😊

im familiar that game, i renember the days, during my childhood time, we call that game pagong, (turtle in English) every time i saw Volkswagen beetle type.

We called it slug bug. When you saw one you would hit the shoulder.

@funtraveller great shots I really like the 4th one. It just looks clean and smooth.

That's interesting, i think we all have our on way of playing using this VWs. hehe Thanks! I thought same, unfortunately that's the only clean pic i have because of so many attendees that day.

Yes that's it! hehe, thanks for the reminder, i remember now. It's fun to win but literally hurts to lose. :-(

That's very interesting ....Volkswagen was a classy . I saw many different model in you post...so cool..I like the VW COMBI ROCKS . thanks for sharing this post .

Thanks for your feedback. Im glad that you like it too :-)

It was great event as your nice shots! You are so lucky to be there...

Thanks @chorock! Yes i was really that night. Im a fan of these classic cars.

He funtraveller,
you are already following me so you know what i do.
Is it ok if i use your photo's for my cartoonizing artwork?

Thanks for your interest, yes you may use but pls mention @funtraveller as the source.

Yes will do. Thanks and i'll let you know when i managed to make something worth posting.

Sure! :-) looking forward to it.

Old is Gold they said, very well said.

Yes! Highly agreed on that :-)

Great photos, @funtraveller! I would love to have a great trip on these VW.

Same here, this is my dream van. If I earn more than enough on my posts, this will be first on my list to buy. hehe.

Nice

Nice insight into history of Volkswagen old vehicles!

This post made me dig deeper to history, hehe. I happy with what i discovered. Thanks @shilpavarma :-)

Nice post

Thanks buddy!

I am very happy if you are interested to visit my blog. And give me a little input about my articel.