HOW I FINALLY IN THE HAMMERFEST THE NORTH LIGHT INFUSED

in #photography6 years ago

515.jpg

Almost exactly 10 years ago, I landed in Iceland for the first time. On the way from Keflavík Airport to Reykjavík, my driver suddenly turned off onto a dirt road into the black lava field. "There's one," he pointed out the car window.

As we see the lights of Hammerfest's night trail disappear behind a hill, and only the almost full moon pollutes the sky with light, more and more of those faint little clouds are coming. They are moving! They move, that can not be the wind! No, not green, only very light, light gray ... but they dance! It is an aurora borealis, whose sighting I now really have to accept as such, even if it still does not show the green or other intense colors that I always see in photos!

Finally! We hold! The moon is bright as day, but I still see it flickering. Right above my head. So I imagined that! It's fast, stronger in some places, more visible, and the thicker knot in the band wanders out to sea. We have to look through snow and over icy tufts of grass, that is to say downwards and not stumble. As I walk and stare at the sky and ignore directions, I grab my tripod and drive my legs out. To the beach it is too far. The transparent veil clouds are right in front of me, above me, behind me - I see them slowly clearer and with (presumably) imagination even greenish. "Many people are disappointed when they see a polar light for the first time.

Wallpaper-Aurora-Laptop-Backgrounds-99101.jpg

Seconds later, a bright green stripe in the blue sky shines on the screen. "Wow! The hammer! These colors! "It gushes through the silent night. Another attempt, if the second picture will be like that. Click and "Yeah !!!" My safari colleagues already know the spectacle in the sky. But they also have their heads on their necks and are amazed to themselves. The sky is suddenly as infinite as the universe. And everywhere bands pull with so-called curtains along. Like bouncing boards on a long fence leading to infinity. Like a toxic light green filament of krypton. I have a wide angle, but that's not enough! It is not enough for these ribbons, which run from the sea to the horizon of the mountain range. We all agree: we are goddamn lucky children!

Polarlicht_gerade.jpg

I hope you liked it

If yes, but still like an upvote there ♥