You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Read before you post anything new on Steemit: The Basics of Copyright.

in #photography6 years ago

I think it was better before you changed it to "danced". XD

I fear I'll accidentally use an image that someone lied about the license for.

I think I'll investigate membership stock sites. :-/

I don't really do the type of posts that need great photography currently. I certainly don't earn enough from most posts to pay too much for a photograph. Plus relying on someone else's work just seems...ehh... Mostly I just use images as place fillers currently. Something to click on to bring you into the post, or break up text.

The only case I can see for my particular needs currently in paying for individual photos would be if I found one that could inspire a story. Then I could see paying a bit.

But then again, I'm sure there are cheaper sites too that aren't just a buffet. So, I'll have to investigate.

Sort:  

Hahah, maybe it was better yeah.. but you know the reason why I changed it haha.

If you think you have accidentally used an image that has been licensed then just swap it with one you are certain of it has a CC0 license (pexels.com). I tipped @emilclaudell about that as well.

What I would like to do, is to offer 'free' images to the Steemit community to use as long as I get 'enough' upvotes to do so. I have plenty of images but I think I have to create fresh content to cover new content on Steemit.

The best platform to look for content would be Shutterstock, I have some images on it that do pretty well. My best photograph has been downloaded almost 700 times.

What kind of images are you looking for?

If you think you have accidentally used an image that has been licensed then just swap it with one you are certain of it has a CC0 license (pexels.com). I tipped @emilclaudell about that as well.

With the blockchain, unless I find out before 7 days, I'm fucked.

It's not like I would know if someone mislabeled an image as CC0, without extensive research.

What I would like to do, is to offer 'free' images to the Steemit community to use as long as I get 'enough' upvotes to do so.

How were you planning on doing it? Like thumbnails, and then upvotes to unlock? Maybe with tiers based on upvotes?

The best platform to look for content would be Shutterstock, I have some images on it that do pretty well. My best photograph has been downloaded almost 700 times.

Shutterstock is a pretty popular one. There are also ones that are like grab bags though. I'd prefer that for the majority of posts. I can't afford $10 for an image on a post that's likely to earn $2-10 total. I'm not on shutterstock yet though, so maybe they have cheaper images.

Not every post requires some beautiful image. Just something there.

When it is labeled as CC0, it should be a CC0 license. Make a print screen of it and save it.

I'm not sure yet how to do it. First I would need a bigger 'following', and I would need to get in touch with my followers who would need images for their posts on Steemit. Maybe I will create a discord channel for those who would like to use my images. With a list of needed images I could search my database for already existing images and upload them in a post free to use for up-voters only. Since I am new to the platform, it would take a while to get noticed ;-).

Another option is to sell images under single user licenses for crypto, until you get bigger. We all get paid in crypto, so it's a lot easier than converting.

There might also be stock image sites that take crypto, but I'm not sure if there are any.

Great idea!