An exercise in high key - Black and White

in #photographylast year

Hi all,
Armed with my trusty Sony, I ventured out into my back yard to see what I could photograph and turn into a reasonable monochrome image. This day I went with the intention of finding subjects that I could add a high key effect to.

Gazanias are my go-to when I lack inspiration and am unable to find anything that catches my imagination. In colour, they are vivid and eye catching. No wonder a lot of houses around Melbourne are growing them. It seems they have been popular for about 10 years.

In this series of photographs I also concentrated mainly on from below shots, trying to capture shape and structure from a different perspective. I think the first shot conveyed what I was trying to achieve the best.

The macro lens helps bring details into the picture, but it is a challenge to get the right depth of field to achieve the look I want. A steady hand helps with sharpness, which becomes more difficult the older you get.

Anyhow, I think they turned out OK, but still, plenty of room for improvement.

See you in my next post.












"click the image to enlarge"

Categoryphotography
LensSony 90mm macro
CameraSony A7Mii
LocationMelbourne Victoria