Spring in the Rockies. Banff, Canada life and art

in #photography6 years ago

Spring in the Rockies. Banff, Canada.
I'll second Peyto as well. Not nearly as crowded as Louise or Moraine, but still just as gorgeous. Hiked down to the water from the lookout last summer and only came across two people on the trail while heading back up.
Capture.JPG

A device that makes annoying loud sounds to supposedly scare away bears. Locals will tell you they are useless. Just be bear aware and use common sense. My family lives in Grizzly country, and carries nothing. Bear knowledge is the best method, but actual encounters are quite rare.

Yeah, I have read up on it, I’ve hiked in Black Bear country, which I realize they are different than grizzlies. I feel prepared. I really don’t want to take anything special, like bear spray or a special noise maker, unless I really have to. I’m probably going to have my trekking poles with me, although this trail doesn’t look like I’ll need them.

Super slow start to spring this year. The ice will probably be off the rivers in another 3 weeks, another 2 months until the lakes are completely clear of ice, and will be about mid June before most of the snow is off the mountain trails.

Beautiful! Banff is on my bucket list. Pictures like this make me want to get there quickly. How long until the ice is completely melted?

If you ever want to find the exact spot of the photo, it's by the river going to Banff Springs golf court. I took the photo on Easter April 1th.

noise makers like bells and what not.

i've heard bear bangers can be useful but i wouldn't want that to be my only thing stopping a bear.

i take bear spray whenever i go into the back country

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Hello! I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for the great post! ARTzone is now following you! ALWAYs follow @artzone and the artzone tag, and support our artists!