TIPS ON PHONE PHOTOGRAPHY

in #photography6 years ago

Hi guys, today I decided to talk about how to take good pictures with your phone. I can remember back in those days when there were no smartphones, we usually find it very difficult to take photographs, its either you buy a camera and an editing software and go through all the painstaking process of learning how to use them or you pay for the job to be done for you.

But now we give thanks to our mobile devices. Not only that, most of our mobile phones now come with editing applications and this has made photography easier for us.

Asides making calls with our mobile device now we can also take amazing photos and edit them at a go on these devices. This does not mean you should just take out your phone and just snap, you have to be creative in your own little way.

I have taken over 1000 photos on my phone ranging from birthday photos, holiday photos and lots more. I don’t just take photos because I feel like taking them; I do it because I love to capture moments in time and also to better myself in the photography world. I basically see photography beyond it being a profession, to me it is a lifestyle and I intend on improving on that every day of my life.

Also phone photography is not as easy as it sounds, sometimes I spend hours trying to edit pictures and caption them, I feel as though I’ve done nothing but I feel happier when I think of the records of pictures on my phone; the photos of families and friends, trips I embarked on, adventures and so on.

For those of you who are willing to try out phone photography; here are a few tips on how to go about it.

But first, let’s talk about choosing a phone

WHEN CHOOSING A PHONE
IMG-20180106-WA0045[1].jpg

Choosing a phone should be one of the things you should have at the back of your mind when you want to go into phone photography. I cannot specifically tell you exactly what type of phone you should get but a few words will help you make the right choice.

Here are a few things to consider from a photography perspective

Battery Lifespan
You should consider the battery life of the phone because this will enable you to know how long the phone can last and the applications you can run in the background.

Space/Storage
You will definitely need space for pictures and applications to run on your phone. This should be one of the basic factors to have in mind when going into phone photography, and also if you have plans to take a lot of photos, preferably you should go for phones with 32gig memory space and above.

Phone Screen
The screen size of a phone also mattes when going into phone photography, the resolution and the quality of the contrast also plays a key role here. This will enable you to have the actual feel of how your image will look like when you post it online or when you print it.

Megapixels
For those of you who will want to print photos directly from your phone, it is more convenient to go for a phone with higher megapixels because of the higher the pixel the higher the quality and resolution of your photo and it will give a better output.

After you must have gotten your desired phone, you are set to go into phone photography, the following should be considered or rather have them at the back of your mind before taking any photo

To balance your shots make use of Gridlines

IMG-20180106-WA0037[1].jpg

This is an essential factor to put into consideration. Always make use of gridlines on your phone whenever you want to take a photo. It will enable you to have a more balanced image. Apply the rule of thirds here.

Screenshot_20180105-224938[1].png

Take note of lens flare

IMG_20171102_073334-01.jpeg

Lens flare also plays a key role when taking a photo, if not properly manipulated it may not bring the beauty in your photo. Below is a picture that I took manipulating lens flares. How beautiful.
IMG_20171025_071324-02.jpeg

Always clean your camera lens before taking a photo
Before taking any picture with your phone, ensure you have the camera lens cleaned up. This will enable you get a clearer picture of what you are about to snap as the case may be.

Take a steady shot
IMG_20170819_201042_006.jpg

Avoid taking shaky shots, this would make your photo loose sharpness and it will look blurry. A selfie stick could play a great role here to achieving a good shot.

Resolution
Always make sure you set your phone resolution to the highest when taking a photo, by doing this you will achieve the desired shot with a good quality.

I hope this few tips will be useful to those who are interested in photography. THANK YOU ALL

ALL PHOTOGRAPHS USED ARE MY ORIGINAL WORKS AND ARE ALL TAKEN AND EDITED ON MY PHONE

long live #steemit, and thanks to @pearlumie for introducing me to this platform. You are indeed a friend and a brother.

Sort:  

Nice post.

Thank u bro

I love photograpy, and beautiful moments captured, i dont no it can be done with phones, i taught cameras alone
Thanks for this info. Bro

thank you @Rebeccafl i appreciate

Yeah. Good lecture on phone photography. Quite interesting.

thank you sir

Wao! You so good, those pics look like theyre from a digital camera, thumbs up

I guess I have over learnt about photography today...
Osha pra pra

thanks egbon

O really sha pra pra raise to power 2

Wow, thanks a lot for these tips. I've always complained of how bad my shots are. Thanks for the tips

THANK you

This is a good post. I have learnt something new. Thanks for sharing

thanx alot

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @hassanics to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Wait, I think I'd to go back to my way in photography too
This is beautiful

yeah you should @bollutech

You were born for this.

Nicely said btother

hi there what is spec of this phone ??

Wow great post proud of you hassan