The best makeup one could ever wear is CONFIDENCE

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

"Beauty is only skin deep"

This quote seems to be too familiar yet too foreign.

As the world evolves the definition of beauty seems to have changed as well. Sometimes we base it in the color or the eyes or the color of the skin or even the personality of a person. Sometimes beauty gets too complicated, you'd only be considered beautiful if your face has the Golden Ratio. It lead me to ask myself what beauty was and how it is determined. As we enslave ourselves to the idea of beauty we forget how imperfections makes us different and unique

Anxiety

It took me a while to be comfortable in my own skin. It took me a while to stare at my face and body in the mirror and tell myself I was beautiful, maybe not "that" beautiful but I was in my own way. I used to pinch my nose together and wish they'd grow smaller, I'd go on dangerous diets so I could be small and petite, and I even planned to get contact lenses because my eyes were too black and plain. I would cry myself to sleep after every break-up asking if it was because I wasn't beautiful enough. it took me too long to realize that I was beautiful, maybe not that beautiful but I was in my own way.

Be Yourself

When someone told me "I wish I had your eyes." I immediately thought of how ridiculous that was, why would someone want plain black eyes? Then I realized that the features I considered ugly was actually not to someone else. I started to crawl out of my cocoon and venture out, trying new things I could never have done before. I started wearing dresses even when I was too "fat" for them. I started to tie my hair up even if my face was too "round" for it. I dropped every single doubt I had in my mind and just tried to be my own definition of pretty. I learned to apply make-up and learned to mix and match my plain boring clothes. A few months later I became more comfortable with my own skin, I was confident that I was a tad bit prettier in my eyes. I learned to live with my imperfections. "Love Yourself" is such is heavy statement. It's not that easy to love yourself, it might sound funny but it isn't that easy to some people. I do admit I'm still in the process of doing it, but there's progress and I'm happy for that. Indeed the best make-up you could ever wear is CONFIDENCE.

To anyone out there who keeps on wishing to be someone else, Love please don't. You're beautiful with all your flaws and imperfections. You're YOU and no one can ever replace your presence, no one can ever be the same as you are.

Sort:  

Congratulations @helliad! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

yeah really it's good to be confident and know the person that you are, believe in yourself

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #smartphonephotography

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 17:27:21
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 11.10/100.00
Total Photos: 2
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank