A Gorgeous Doggy

in #photography3 years ago

Skipper.jpg



More than 1 year with Skipper

Looking at this photo, I go back in time a little more than 1 year. February 16, 2020, the first time we saw Skipper. With his old owners in the car the long journey from Assen (Province of Drenthe) to our North Brabant. The first meeting that would determine Skipper's future. He had no idea what was going to happen, had no idea that it might be the last ride with his old owners. The last minutes he would ever spend with them, all while trying so hard to be a good dog, a loyal friend, a companion and companion for life. Unfortunately, Skipper had a problem that his old owner could not handle at all, and they saw no other solution than a new house, finding a new golden basket for Skipper. And because of their call in which they described Skipper, his photo with it and some email contact, the time had come for Skipper to meet us, our girls and for us to see if there was a click with the girls and with Skipper, and with us and Skipper.

The first meeting was fierce because Skipper went crazy when he saw Myla, and I was unlucky that the leash Myla was attached to was in my hand. That same hand with line found itself quite quickly in Skipper's mouth. Hmmmm, okay then, he reacts very strongly indeed was my thought. But I did not shy away from it. Just walked away quietly with Myla and we went for a walk.

Skipper soon enough appeared to calm down and enjoy the walk. He was very curious about our girls and open to us. Not suspicious and not reluctant.

An hour and a half and a walk later, we had made a decision. Skipper would stay with us, and we had another German Shepherd with us. Surely that's THE dog breed where our heart lies. And after Rowan's death, we also missed a male among the ladies. Building trust with Skipper was made a lot more difficult when our Lana decided that she would be in heat right away and the lady and gentleman really couldn't stay together. Skipper was placed in the kitchen and I divided my time between living room and kitchen. Difficult moments where I often felt torn and Skipper had trouble trusting us and finding his place.

Fortunately we have overcome all those problems.

Fast-forward to now!

The ladies and Skipper get along very well and especially our oldest lady Myla sometimes tries to challenge Skipper to play with her. Skipper visibly enjoys those moments and loves to take on Myla's challenges. He does his best to become friends with Lana as well, but our black monster is and remains stubborn. She tolerates Skipper without any problems. But playing with him is a step too far for her. QUIET in my neighborhood is her idea. There is no problem outside, but inside she thinks Skipper should stay calm. Skipper knows what she is like, accepts it, he only turns the tables around food. Then it's Skipper who says to Lana, "Get out of here," which Lana accepts in turn.

So things are going well between the dogs, but how are we?

It is GREAT, we brought home a fantastic dog! That is simply very simple, but the truth as we feel it. Yes Skipper bounces like an idiot when he sees other dogs / animals. He thinks ducks are fine by the way. Even when animals pass by on TV, he barks deafeningly and bounces barking at the TV. Watching a film has become a completely different experience than before. And in those moments we see that Skipper is a completely different dog from Rowan or Lex. But beyond that, I would sometimes just feel like I have Rowan around me again. Skipper can be found in my neighborhood all day long. When I go to the bathroom, he is waiting outside the door. When I go to the store, he is waiting for me at the gate or door. In short, he likes everything and wants to be with everything. Not because he could not be alone because he can do just fine… but just because he is REALLY a pack animal. And want to be with you for fun. Just a hug, just push that big snout against you to let you know it's there.

Every morning he comes to sniff me very carefully to see if I'm still breathing. Only when I have said "Hello Skipper" does he turn around again. When I cook dinner, he lies with me in the kitchen, looking up at an angle to see if a tasty snack falls off for him. It is a very pleasant dog. He won't run away and will always hang out in my or my partner's neighborhood.

Love to play in the water… and love to be outdoors. He can enjoy himself all day long, he helps with gardening, not that it always makes you happy, but he does his best! He still has to learn a little bit.

So yes, conclusion after a little more than 1 year Skipper, VERY HAPPY WITH HIM!

I feel that I have a friend for life again, and that we have many more good years to face with Skipper. It is a dog that has crept into my heart… and it is impossible to get it out of there. Let him live at least 16 years!

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 56 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
3


Hey @hetty-rowan, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

He is beautiful, so happy to hear that he has settled in well with you all and that you have another wonderful companion Hetty. Much love to you xxxx

So happy to see your wonderful reply here! And yes, we're very happy with Skipper. He did settle very well, and he's so loyal and such a wonderful friend to have with me. He makes me think of Rowan so often. Much love right back at ya! xxxx