Celebrating Spring with Mushrooms and Flowers!

in #photography6 years ago

flower-arrangement-8.jpg

flower-arrangement-15.jpg

flower-arrangement-16.jpg

flower-arrangement-9.jpg

flower-arrangement-21.jpg

flower-arrangement-24.jpg

flower-arrangement-25.jpg

I've been offline and on the land the last two weeks, working in our garden and our friends' gardens, as well as exploring this beautiful region. After cozying up this winter, I am savoring the thrill of being outside again and reconnecting with everything going on around us. Spring is definitely in the air! Driving through our small town, I see buttery daffodils smiling brightly along the fence lines of people's homes. Fruit trees are beginning to bloom and mushrooms are pushing up from the forest floor (thanks @sagescrub for foraging this beautiful mandala of yellow foot, hedgehog, and wood ear mushrooms).

My own body is awakening to spring's call as I find myself longing to be active. Every time the sun comes out, I hastily grab my pruners and put on muck boots to see what I can plant, weed, or prune. And there's no lack of things to do as cultivation is an ongoing balance between human domestication and nature's wildness. Digging blackberries out of the garden being one such example. (Side note: I found out recently that most of our region's blackberries actually were brought here by Luther Burbank from India. He bred them for the "middle class" palate, but joke's on us in the end because they're literally a thorn on our side. Read the full story on NPR.

And then there's the abundance & splendor of spring! My eyes are delighting in all the colors! Jewel-toned anemones a friend gifted to me for helping at her homestead. Oh-so-cheerful yellow daffodils everywhere. A velvety carpet of red camellia blossoms.

Spring's splendor is giving me inspiration for a project I'm starting: weekly "Found Flowers" arrangements (#foundflowers)! It's good motivation for me to keep making arrangements of garden and wildcrafted flowers, express my creativity, share my love of flowers, and do more of what inspires me. Interested in joining this project? Let me know!

Sort:  

those are really great shots
you should join the photo contest
check out @jamtaylor, daveks and juliank for that

Thanks so much for the recs! I've submitted to juliank, but haven't heard of the others. I will check them out!

this area is just AMAZING when spring's warmth wakes the ground & pushes so many colours up and out!!! those anemones are beautiful - i miss mine! the jerk-face squirrels dug them up and had a feast one year. :(

#foundflowers sounds like a lot of fun! i need to get out and clip some more branches - i do so love cherry blossoms in a vase! sure, they prefer being pruned in the summer, but one or two branches won't hurt.

good luck to us both with the blackberries (UGH)

Yes, please do join in on the project and go clip those cherry blossoms! I just clipped a bunch of plum blossoms and will share soon.

So after all that blackberry complaining I did, I spent all day today weeding crab grass out of a friend's herb bed...I'm not sure what's worse... :P.

I love finding your post in my feed! was wondering when you'd produce the next one:) Fantastic photos, the colours are amazing, great post idyllwild!

Awww, thanks anna-bella. I'm kind of a drip poster lol. But less is more I guess?

Those mushrooms look tasty! I haven't had any of those types before. What do you guys plan on doing with them?

We have been eating them in almost everything...miso soup, stir fry, and quiche! We're also drying the more abundant harvests for later.

Those all sound like tasty uses!

Your photos never cease to amaze me :) Looking forward to seeing your #foundflowers project unfurl!

Thanks my dear! Just gotta get out of the garden and on the comp first lol.

Fantastic photos dear! 😍🌿💚 Welcome, Spring! And enjoy those mushrooms, yum!!

Indeed, we are enjoying our tasty morsels :). Thank you for featuring this post on your curation feed! Sorry I didn't see these replies until now...haha. I don't know how you do it, but I find it so hard to have enough time to be on Steem and homestead! Kudos to you both!

Congratulations @idyllwild! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

49CBB841-0419-478D-972A-ACAD97AB37DC.jpeg

Your post has been featured in this week's earth-centered curation @the-hearth.
Thanks for writing such fantastic and inspiring content!

Amazing shots, carefully arranged with awesome lighting.

Beautiful arrangements and photos, I can't wait to get started on spring too :)

Congratulations @idyllwild! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!