You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: August Before Sunrise

in #photography6 years ago

yes sir willymac meeting so many people from all over the world has it's own rewards and many would stay in touch even if steemit went away, at least that's what I believe.
yeah it's a little hard to keep slugging away as far as posting but the talking to people is great fun so I could do that without pay for sure!

Sort:  

Might as well talk about the mundane things in life since no one is around to be embarrassed by my lack of content.

I just took a break for pulling weeds and "rescuing" some centipede grass I need to transplant as part of my scheme to beautify my world. It's a near-term plan to make the yard easier to care for with my riding mower so I can whack it all down and not have to do too much manual pulling.

And then I tried to figure out why my solar panel charge controller is not working: blown fuse, fixed, but still in failure mode. More checking: it got zapped before the fuse went and puts out 3.4 volts instead of 12. Rat!

More business for Amazon!

I agree about keeping in touch. Got kind of interested in what's happening in North Texas, in Oregon with Glen, and Pete down in SA. At least y'all talk to me!

Howdy back sir willymac! hey real world work comes before steemit that's for sure, maybe when it's cold in the winter you will be caught up on here and do more posting.
Yes those are some great guys to talk to, you don't have trouble finding people to talk to do you?
your solar power system, what does that power, what appliances?

You and Glen are such high volume commenters, it's easier to relate to you. Kind of hard for me to sustain more than one conversation with most people. The finish one and that's it.

I still have more opportunity than I have time for.

The solar thing is no big deal, One panel to keep an emergency portable battery topped off and 12 volt emergency lights in two small storage buildings and in my shop/radio building.

I would like full solar but the trees cut back the efficiency of that. I hate cutting them down since the offenders are maples and poplars, and I love the summer shade. I'm still leaning towards getting 10 or 12, 100 watt panels and backup batteries for emergency lighting and the well pump. You never know these days what's going to be needed. I have smaller panels for charging batteries and cell phone 'n stuff.

Do you have any solar assist or full solar. I understand Texas has some full-sunshine locations.

sir willymac! I wouldn't cut down those shade trees either if I were you. but what you have for solar now is smart to keep some essential power. You guys have your own water well?

Have you looked into a hand pump if the grid goes down?

We don't have any solar yet but we want to, the sun shines almost all the time here.

Yep, our own well. Good, sweet water about 90 feet down with a deep well pump. I do have a hand pump selected I had planned for the fall. A friend has one installed and his works well...after the installer finally recovered the pump intake valve that dropped down the casing pipe during installation.

haha! the installer dropped the intake valve down the pipe, how did he get that out?
that hand pump is a great idea and having your own well is a great idea.

The bronze intake valve fell a long way because the top of the the 10 foot section of PVC pipe was not screwed to the one above it. By trial and error, they raised lowered a 60 foot section of PVC time after time after time for two days until they finally got the bottom of it to match with the top of the fallen part and twist it until the threads matched so they could pull it up.

I bet the installer won't make that mistake again!

The one I'm looking at has a three foot handle mounted on a fulcrum to generate enough mechanical gain the I'll have pressure to pump water through the line from the wall to the house so the faucets will work. That's a big help in the convenience because toilets will flush, too.

Los of water is going to doom cities when the toilets won't flush. I wonder of most inhabitants ever think of that?