Happy Bitcoin Pizza Day!

in #photography6 years ago

Headline Picture

That’s right, today is Bitcoin Pizza day and to celebrate it I decided to walk down to Balboa Boutiques where the one and only Panamá Blockchain Embassy @embassypty!

So obviously I wanted the whole pizza day experience. Turns out the blockchain embassy has a bitcoin ATM from Cryptobuyer, which you can use to purchase yourself some crypto:

Also, the shops in the mall several of the restaurants accept Bitcoin/Litecoin/Dash… and guess who is in that select list? An Italian restaurant by the name of Aglio Rosso. So, 2 + 2 = Bitcoin pizza day! Before we all get too excited... I am going to have to be honest... we ran into some issues upstairs at the restaurant. Their terminal to accept crypto was down at the moment for reasons unbeknownst to me. However, the restaurant went above and beyond to really cater to us crazy crypto people:

As you can see, they made us a Bitcoin Pizza! And it wasn't just one... oh no, we got ourselves two!

By the time we were done taking pictures like crazy, I am sure they were done with us as well. So, we went ahead and took the party downstairs for the second part of the improv bitcoin pizza day photoshoot:

By the way, I really like this next picture. It captures the pizza (although you can't see the bitcoin loco or much of it), but in the background you get the Bitcoin logo full blown at the entrance of the blockchain embassy. Not only that, you can appreciate part of the space in the reflection on the glass wall. You can see the different crypto shirts they have there for sale as well as some indistinguishable reference books, cups and things. I think it really capture as much as you possibly could in one picture!

And of course, the restaurant was so happy to see us take our craziness downstairs that they sent us a Bitcoin Brownie to keep us there:

Just kidding ^^, they love us! By the time I decided to take a picture and pulled out the camera... the bitcoin symbol had already morphed into this. But you can sort of tell there was a B there whose two vertical lines just didn't make it pass a few minutes. Guess syrup at Panamá room temperature just doesn't work for writing. Anyway, for something that happened completely out of the blue I guess we did ok. As always, the staff at the Bitcoin Embassy and Aglio Rosso were very cool and accommodating. If you are ever in Panama, be sure to come on a Tuesday to the Blockchain Embassy, buy one of their embassy pty white shirts and then head upstairs to Aglio Rosso to enjoy 50% off on your meal! That's right, Tuesdays they have a promo where they give each person wearing a white shirt 50% off their check (don't make the mistake of not wearing one hoping to get the discount from another guest. They only apply the discount on the consumption of the person/people wearing the white shirt.)

So, what are you waiting for? Come on over! Here in my website! you can find a gallery of the rest of the "awesome" pictures we took to celebrate bitcoin pizza day. Or feel free to jump straight into the Bitcoin Pizza Day Gallery.

Some of my favorites include this whoopsies moment: Whoopsies

And some really great shots of the pizza at the Panama Blockchain Embassy:
Bitcoin Pizzas and the inside logo

I'll probably share some with more detail in different posts as this one is more focused on the special day today is and of course of its significance: The acceptance of Bitcoin as a medium of exchange.

Let me know which are you favorites, and what did you to do celebrate this day in the comments section below! Talk to you soon!

Sort:  
There are 3 pages
Pages

For some people this place is just a normal place. But for us Crypto Enthusiast this place is like a paradise. I feel energized for seeing this picture into Crypto much even if I personally get to see this in person. Thanks for posting my friend

You are welcome! The guys at Cryptobuyer are the ones pushing the stores in the area to accept crypto as payment options with them as the payment gateway/conversion agent. We still have ways to go but people forget how credit cards started, it is never easy but well worth it in the end.

For me this is surreal. It doesn't seem like there is too many stores. I come from a city of about 160k so to see this is amazing. I hope there is more integration in the future so we can buy stuff in stores with crypto on a daily basis.

Well, it is mostly thanks to Cryptobuyer who is a local company that offers payment gateways for merchants and ATMs. So, they are affiliated somehow to the Panama Blockchain Embassy (that's their ATM there) and I guess it made sense to talk the businesses there to accept crypto through them to help promote it. Besides the mall it is hard to find a place were they accept crypto here in Panama. Now, you have countries like Japan were I think adoption is at all time highs. Still not anyone accepts crypto but a lot more of merchants there do. Wouldn't be surprised if Japan has the highest ratio of merchants accepting bitcoin. Hope Panama moves in that direction too!

Watch Bitcoin Pizza day become a national holiday in a country, that'd be awesome

I mean... they are already doing public spaces / monuments for Bitcoin in some countries... one can only hope!

I am wondering, where is he now? is he still do btc mining or anything that involve crypto? or he is just gone due to depression for today's btc price, LOL

I think everyone selling bitcoin now will be in depression when bitcoin reaches 1 million.

There will come a time when Bitcoin finds price stability. We need people exchanging them for it to truly become a global currency... otherwise it is just a collectors item and something else will come to take it's place.

absolutely agree. We will just HODL TIGHT, LOL

I think he must be in depression because od btc price :)

I read that Laszlo replicated the same experiment later on to test the lightning network when 1 BTC was worth $o.ooo5 after that he sold all his bitcoin and lived happily ever after!

I think he was wise, like would you sell your painting created 5 minutes ago in photoshop for 2 pizzas? I think you'd be happy to sell.

Well done, beautiful
Great post from you
Thanks for sharing the recipe with us..

i can imagine the price of this pizas in 5 -10 years when 1 bitcoin will be more than 1 milion $

I better go buy more bitcoin then so I don't get depressed in a decade.

lol

Very yummy bitcoin pizza. I think it will so expensive like bitcoin.

this day may always hurt the pizza buyer.

I did order a pizza yesterday to celebrate bitcoin pizza day :):)

Smart men think alike lol!

Fantastic pizza for bitcoin

Delicious, I want to order one... But put butter garlic sauce on the "B" for me please... yum...

I knew I was missing something!

No Problem Brother, I Got Your Back...
Screen Shot 2018-05-24 at 7.14.10 PM.png

Someone just upped you with cheese filled B... did not think of that either.

Change the garlic butter sauce to a Garlic Pesto, with that Cheese Filled "B". Now Im thinking of making this one, Getting Hungry now... lol...

the price of pizza should be 8000$ according to btc price..ha ha ha

Why $8000, it's $84 mln according to current prices.

yeah, I think the math is off there

i'd like to devour those Bitcoin pizza anytime😏😸

This pizza is definitelly cheaper than that one bought several years ago ;-)

if you are looking at the BTC price then yes, very much cheaper!

Cryptoworld celebrates the anniversary of Bitcoin Pizza Day
Eight years ago, the Czech crypto-enthusiast Lazlo Hanesh made the first real purchase in the history of the bitcoins. Hanesh transferred 10,000 BTC to his programmer friend, who ordered two pizza from Papa John's restaurant. At that time, one bitcoin cost about $ 0.003

Tell us what Papa John's Pizza did with the Bitcoin he received...

No idea, interesting question. Version#1 Papa John nowadays is just BigPa cause he have 10.000BTC

Version #2 Papa John last seen in the Bahamas on his Farkin big Boat...

It is a Very expensive pizza.

Well, I am sure back then no one would expect this meteoric rise. And if no one would had traded Bitcoin back then, we wouldn't be were we are today. In hindsight it was very expensive but his price to acdquire those bitcoins probably wasn't.

That's looks so tasty, I'm going to order one of that to celebrate I love pizza so much!

The most expensive pizza in the world is bitcoin-pizza

I wouldn’t be able to swallow a million dollar bite 😂

yeah happy bitcoin day :D

Bitcoin is changing the world as we speak. It is changing the lives of middle income individuals.

Bitcoin pizza looks amazing!!

4E1EAE37-7E60-43DB-BF6B-C9B902BE0CC6.jpegWho would have ever imagined the currency which was valued equivalent to a single pizza years ago would have the value to purchase the whole pizza store someday.

an entire chain you mean! lol.

At present, BTC has become an important milestone.
But I'm feeling very well. Would not it be a world number one?

For some people this place is just a normal place. But for us Crypto Enthusiast this place is like a paradise. I feel energized for seeing this picture into Crypto much even if I personally get to see this in person. Thanks for posting my friend.

Glad you enjoyed and appreciate it that much. Well, if you are ever in Panama don't forget to stop by Balboa Boutiques and dine at one of the restaurants there that take crypto. Not all of them do but at least you can get Italian and pay with bitcoin for now ^^

This story makes me laugh, not yours but the original. How many people have bought into the Bitcoin trend now and read this story and go through the "if only I knew then" phase...

A lot for sure. Though I've heard of people who bought way back when but then sold when they made x2 or x10. I think there are only very few people who would held for so long and even fewer who did so by conviction not just something that happened. The age of massive gains is over but hopefully we can still make some good profits.

I love pizza. This a great place for crytoholic people. ;) Nice share. Up!

Thanks! I know, cryptoholic people would dig this mall... just sad it is small and not everyone accepts it but someday... someday...

I just think that those are delicious pizza 😂

They were good though we were starving, so, maybe a little bit biased.

at the 7-8 year ago, i think i will do the same thing (using big amount to buy thing )

I’m very excited about BlockOne and everything Dan Larimer has done for the blockchain community. EOS i’m All In!! Check out Dan Larimer’s interview here and please follow me as we will show you the throughput technology in real time and daily updates on how my organization is helping gentrify Los Angeles , pushing the homeless out into the suburbs and raise property values via crypto currencies and un blocking the chains!!

For any of you who feel pitty for my lil bro, DONT!! His life is probably a whole lot funner than yours...

ich wusste gar nicht das man digitale währung essen kann, sieht aber sehr lecker aus

lol, you can eat only bitcoin right now... maybe next years there will be able to eat some other currencies (っˆڡˆς)

Great post, love the pictures! It's funny to think what you could buy with that much Bitcoin today, lol.

Borderline depressing if you ask me hahaha. But certainly, we've come a long way since those days, and we still have much more to go! But that's part of what makes Bitcoin great, that it is a store of value. Obviously, the role of digital cash would have to go to a stable coin. I believe the future looks that way: Bitcoin being digital gold and another currency being the stable coin you convert into to pay for day to day expenses. Although long term probably bitcoin will gain stability price wise once adoption nears its maximums. I guess anything could happen!

Would Eos be potential?

Posted using Partiko Android

It is so hard to tell because there is so much disruption and innovation in the market. I wouldn't be surprised if the Top 10 looked very different than it does today and we have coins not yet invented there. Such an exciting time to be alive!

You are right. Eos situation just reminds me eth in 2016.

Congratulation jcbit! Your post has appeared on the hot page after 29min with 24 votes.
Thanks to @souldelas.

This post has received a 21.24 % upvote from @boomerang.

Hope you didn't pay 10 000 BTC for those

I wish I had that!

If you do, just let me know, I'll have some pizzas waiting for you :)

This Bitcoin is testy to eat also .

I mean... it was made of the same bread as the pizza so if you are into bread sticks then yes ^^

thanks for huge informative post.

nice post, nice pizza!!! :)

Thank you! I think it is a great story and celebration of where we are and where we are going!

really? i loved it

Wow delicious. it will get a top position on the BIT COIN STOCK MARKET

happy bitcoin pizza day just for you

Thanks! Happy bitcoin pizza day to you too!

Nice and perfect.@jcbit

hot and full of cheese!

Chill with a cup of ice water

That looks awesome lol, pretty tasty too I bet :D

Hard to be objective on this one, we were starving by the time we were ready to eat it ^^

It must be related to btc price,,, hhahah

Pizza dumped? :(

The crypto currency has come to stay. By the way that pizza looks delicious.

Yes for sure, the world has changed in a way that can't be undone. The credit goes entirely to the chef, she did what she could with a picture on a phone

There are 3 pages
Pages