Soar High Hilongos! My beloved hometown

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Since I miss home so I will tour you around our humble town, but before that i will give you a brief history about our town.

Lore has it that in the 12th century, Amahawin, an Ilonggo from Iloilo, conquered neighboring barangays on Leyte’s western shore and extended his territory to the present limits of Inopacan, Hindang, Bato, and Matalom. They named our province HILONGOS because it’s people were Ilonggos. The Municipality of Hilongos is composed of 52 barangays.


(Immaculate Conception Parish Church & Bell Tower)

hilongos-leyte-hall.jpg
(Hilongos Municipal Hall)


(SOAR HIGH HILONGOS!!!)


Our very own Puto Sikwate (glutinous rice for puto & cacao beans for sikwate)


(I took this photo few minutes before the #hilongosleytebombing #traumatizingexperience.)


(Hilongos Port & Public Market)

So that's it. i hope you enjoy a simple glimpse of our town.

Photos captured using Samsung S4, apology for some photos with low quality. hehe

Sort:  

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hilongos,_Leyte

Puto sekwati 🤤🤤🤤

hala oh nkalimut ko. hehehe

sana mapuntahan ko din ^_^

pasyal po kayo dun ate marami pang tourist spot dun. :)