New Tool To Make My Blog Better!

in #photography6 years ago

I have been looking to get a great camera for a while. I looked at forums for photography and telescopes to see what the best option was for getting into the entry level of higher end cameras. Yesterday I combined all the opinions and information and made a decision of what I thought would work for me.

I purchased a Nikon Coolpix P900!!! The idea of a point and shoot with 83x optical zoom sounded too good to not be the answer

I have been snapping pictures for the past day or so to try to get used to using the new camera. I can really only effectively use the zoom to about 50% out because I am not steady enough... I will be getting a tripod for sure!

Here is some of the results from around my yard.

DSCN0004.JPG

The daytime moon

DSCN0059.JPG

DSCN0052.JPG

DSCN0012.JPG

DSCN0015.JPG

DSCN0042.JPG

DSCN0028.JPG

Our bird family!!!

DSCN0036.JPG

DSCN0044.JPG

DSCN0031.JPG

DSCN0053.JPG

DSCN0054.JPG

Our pet family!

I am really looking forward to using this camera in all future blog post. I haven't tried the video out yet but from the reviews I have read it should be pretty good!

Please let me know in the comments if you have any tips or tricks for achieving those great shots we all love!! I am new to photography but really feel like it should be very easy to get super involved in. =)

Homesteaders online.png

Thanks for reading if you liked this post please upvote, re-steem, and follow as you see fit.

All pictures are original and shot from my Nikon Coolpix P900

Sort:  

I've used both the point-and-shoot coolpix as well as SLR cameras. I think there are two big advantages to the point and shoot cameras. First is that they are small, lightweight, and take excellent photographs when you can get the subject into focus and get the photo. Second is that they are moderately priced. The advantages of an SLR with a long lens is that generally speaking the autofocus feature is much more effective, and it is much easier to get onto moving or partly obscured subjects. In addition the image stabilization of newer long lenses is really helpful in hand-held situations. I'm a birder, and use photography to enhance my enjoyment of birding as well as to document my sightings. I have gone to an SLR camera essentially all the time because I was just not able to get onto birds fast enough and get focused often enough with the Coolpix.
A couple of hints on using the Coolpix. First get a fast high quality memory card. With a slower card it takes far too long to process each photo, making it essentially a one-photo or bust type tool. Second is to get a camera with a viewing sight so you don't have to rely on the viewing screen to find the subject. It is far faster, not a problem in bright light, and overall much easier to use. Good luck.

Thank you so much for sharing that! This is the first camera I have had that isn't just a basic point and shoot. I am excited to learn more! The guy at the camera store was also stressing the memory card issue, I have a GoPro that I use when I go diving so I pulled the memory card from that. It was a C10 32GB. I was told that the C10 was the minimum. Is there a higher quality card that would help get better results for taking the bird pics?

Wow, phenomenal pics, man. Upvoted. Keep it up!

Thanks! Going to hone my skill as I learn but I will post lots of pics through the process. =)

I don't know anything about cameras but these are some great pictures! I look forward to seeing more from you

Thank you! I am far from expert and just starting with my first step down the path. So happy to share with the great community on Steemit!

A good camera and creative photos can make all the difference in a Steemit article! I have a Canon EOS Rebel T3 and I love it! These pics are great, looking forward to seeing more!

Thanks! I can't wait to learn and document it here on Steemit for all to see! Good to here positive feedback on other cameras too! I know lots of people were really happy with the Rebel line from Canon on the forums.

The quality is remarkable, I'm gonna have to get one!

I can only say that I have never had anything like this. The power of the zoom and the image quality is amazing. It is weird to know I can go outside and produce a picture like this. It feels great!! I recomend it to anyone! =)

Awesome. Ive been considering it so your convincing me😁