Understanding Camera Aperture

in #photography4 years ago (edited)

What is a camera aperture?

This is simply a lens aperture that you need to set right for your camera lens. When the aperture is mentioned, it is generally thought of as a manual camera setting. In fact, as we will discover, an aperture controls two key aspects of taking a good photo - light and depth of field.

A high aperture lets more light through, which can lead to over-exposure, especially if the lens is small and not fully focused. This can be a real problem for someone shooting against a bright sun or the stars, since the aperture can make the sun appear brighter and the stars appear farther apart.

Camera Aperture

Why it’s important

The aperture you use is also important because it controls how much light gets through to your lens. If you have a small aperture, you may be able to see a large amount of light on the subject, while not letting too much light out. At the other end of the scale, a low aperture may produce blurry pictures and cause the background to disappear. A high aperture will allow more light to get through, which creates a soft and pleasant background, but may also cause the foreground to become blurred. For people who are trying to get a good photograph, it is a good idea to use a wide aperture.

Finding out your aperture

There is a way to find out what your aperture is and set it right for your camera. By simply looking at your camera manual, you should be able to determine what aperture you need to use for your camera and whether or not you have any other settings you need to adjust. Once you have found a setting you like, you may find that it does not work with your camera, so it is best to get help with this aspect of photography.

P.S. I don’t have a DSLR Camera but my camera has an aperture settings.

And by the way, Cheetah seems to say that my definition of aperture are plagiarism. I wonder if there was another definition of what aperture was. Anyways, you can count that all there is above is my original content. Cheers


Originally posted on Joseph Fugata’s Blog. Hive blog powered by ENGRAVE.

Sort:  

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
https://photographylife.com/what-is-aperture-in-photography

Oh thanks. That’s nice. However, everything I wrote here is base on my own understanding about the subject. If you found that I illegally copied some information within this blog post, I will quit Blogging.

P.s. Even the description of aperture (which I researched) doesn’t match in verbatim.