Creepy Paris - Abandoned places that inspired me.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Don't be scared and follow me through this strange places.
Paris might be called the city of lights but it definitely has a dark side to it.

These locations inspired me as I started working on a comic called Shades Of Men back in 2012.
I'm currently posting the story two times a week on Steemit.

Now take my hand as we explore the forgotten part of this city.

The Sewers:

Paris has miles of underground tunnels.
Between the metro and the sewers, the city could actually be called the city of Cheese.

les-egouts-de-paris_33571501.jpg

0601socpix.jpg

In this endless maze, you could even be faced with a crocodile!
What? You haven't heard? They say some of these lovely creatures can be found down there.

le-croco-des-egouts-de-paris-flemmarde-vannes.jpg

The truth is the crocodile found in the sewers in 1984 was only a meter long and had probably escaped from his owners as a baby through the bath tub. No others were found after that incident... But who know...

The Catacombs:

Catacombs-Wall-of-Bones-Feat.jpg

You might have heard of the Parisian Catacombs.
20 meters under Denfer-Rochereau, in the 14th district, you can find millions of skeletons.
I'm not sure why they've been placed here but it definitely leaves an impression.
Just from looking at the pictures you feel oppressed.

gypsum catacombs 2.jpg

I still can't believe you can visit this.

The "little-Belt":

jorion-forgotten-line-1_525.jpg

Did you know an abandoned railway overlooked the city. Nature took over but you can follow the rail all around!

petite_ceinture.jpg

It is pretty famous for Street art as you can find all kind of graffiti along the way.
I find it beautiful how nature fills a void when left alone... The very true freedom.

vAi3M.jpg

The Slaughter House:

s154.jpg

It's called "l'abattoir de la nausée" meaning the nauseous slaughter house. The name tells is all...
Extension of a farm in 1949 it was abandoned in 1990. Grass and trees took over and filled the place where ever they could.

abattoir-de-la-nausee-nozay-urbex-abandon-4.jpg

Having never been there, I can only imagine how creepy the place feels. They say it still stinks everywhere you go.
Mostly you can find paint splatters all over the walls as this deadly ruin is used for paintball amateurs.

abattoire2.jpg

This concludes our trip on the dark side of Paris. I'm sure there are tons of other amazing spots to discover.
Feel free to share your own secret place around the world.

Let me know what you thought of this creepy journey.
I'll be happy to do another one these later on.

See ya on the other side,

Jrej

Sort:  

This is so interesting! I've been to Paris before but I've never seen it like this!

I know the sewers and the catacombs can be visited so maybe you can give it a look next time you come by. I'm sure there is plenty more that I missed. I know a few in London. Maybe for the next blog...

Good to know!

This is fun.

It definitely was fun writing it. Thanks for the comment.

Awesome post, up-voted and re-steemed!!!

Hehe Thanks a lot. It took me longer than I expected. I hope It gave you at least the feel of it!

I also find it really interesting to photograph old, abandoned structures. IMHO, it lends a sense of excitement, not knowing what's around the next corner!

Oh yeah of course. The excitement of the unknowing is such a big part of it. Especially with unexpected places like these ones. Makes me wanna go explore some more!

Cool post. Following you, now.

Oh cool! Welcome on board. More content to come!

Wow. this is amazing. This is like something you would see in a movie

Yeah it's very cinematic. And there are very few movies about this side of Paris. Maybe Subway from Besson and Taken more recently...