Back in the States

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Another trip in the books...

My latest travels took me to Italy and Amsterdam for a second time.

I have been asked a couple of times,

           "How was your trip?" 
                     to which I reply, 
                         "It was an amazing experience"   

This answer is simple and too the point but it fails dramatically to capture the true essence of my trip. Partly why I keep the answer brief is because I do not wish to gloat in front of those who are nice enough to ask how my trip was.

Lets be honest: if someone asks you how your trip was, 90 percent of the time it is to be nice. They don't actually give a shit.

Nonetheless, this trip was in fact an amazing experience for many reasons.

IMG_3822.jpg

IMG_3822.jpg

I was able to travel with my brother for the first time (just him and I) which was awesome in and of itself because it something we have always wanted to do. Adding to this treat was the fact that my best friend who studies in Amsterdam (I have referenced him in previous posts) joined us for our travels in Italy as well. We all got a tattoo to commemorate our trip and our close bond as friends and family.
IMG_3821.jpg

Can you identify the building peaking through the trees?
 Hint: The Pope's House 

IMG_3821.jpg

The most gratifying part of my latest adventure was the change in personal perspective that resulted. Being in the thick of a foreign country and realizing that, as an American, you are in the minority is extremely humbling.

Most simply, when in America, it is such a big country that you take for granted being American. You immediately assume everyone around you is American whether from New York or California and the second you meet someone from a foreign country it is a unique experience. Yet, when in a foreign country, almost everyone you meet is from a different country with a different story from your own. Although a seemingly simple concept, I would venture to say that you seldom think about this notion. The formation of my own personal global perspective has become an addiction.

The world is a big place and I have much more to see.
Sort:  

Congratulations @juicyfruit! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 50 posts. Your next target is to reach 60 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Thank you for your support!

I think the best part of forming new perspectives on your experience, is that it holds a wealth of meaning specific to you, but we have the chance to enjoy it if we choose to earn it. Nothing more inspiring to know you worked to get yourself out there, the same way I can work for my photos. It's all about the strength of your conviction, something I feel when I read your pieces.

Thank you @thatkidsblack. I appreciate that and could not agree more. You're dedication in all things photography will send you places. Pretty soon we will be traveling the world together.