Still Frames from Sony A7iv SLOG3 footage

I've been shooting a lot of video with my Sony a7iv in the past couple months. Video is very new to me, and I only first dipped my toes into it when I had the Fujifilm Xt30 setup. I never really dedicated myself to learning an editing and color grading process though, so my interest kind of fizzled out.

With the new camera this past November, the Sony A7iv, I was reinvigorated to try again. I spent a lot of time in Davinci Resolve, Youtube, and the r/colorists subreddit learning as much as I could.

new1_1.7.1.jpg

new1_1.1.1.jpg

new_1.2.1.jpg

Color graded slog3 footage in Davinci Resolve

I'm really pleased with the colors I've been able to pull out in the color grading process. Most of my recent clips have been colored using Juan Melara's Sony2Alexa powergrade, that converts the footage to Arri Log-C then applies the film grade (Kodak 2383 print film) before outputting it as a rec709.

There are a lot of steps along the way, but I've finally got a process that is repeatable.

Enjoy.

  • Camera: Sony a7iv
  • Lens: Sony 24-105 f/4 G with the Freewell 2-5 day variable ND filter
  • Location: Coyhaique, Chile

You can browse 2,200+ photos and videos at my Stocksy Portfolio here: https://www.stocksy.com/justinmullet

Social media: Instagram | Twitter | Pinterest