Sunset in Patagonia

in #photography3 years ago

IMG_20210325_082818_546.jpg

I took this photo last night on a drive out of town. It had looked like there wouldn't be much of a sunset. But, about fifteen minutes after the sun went down the colors in the sky behind me started popping. I snapped this shot before I drove home.

It was an incredibly contrasted scene and I think I was able to balance it out in post without it looking too unnatural. I used Lightroom's range mask based on luminance to select only the dark foreground.

  • Camera: Canon 6D
  • Lens: 16-35 f/2.8L ii
  • Location: Patagonia, Chile

You can browse 2,200+ photos and videos at my Stocksy Portfolio here: https://www.stocksy.com/justinmullet

Social media: Instagram | Twitter | Pinterest

Sort:  

I really want to get down there it's been on my list for a while? Are you visiting there for a while is it awesome?

He lives down there ;-)

It's true. We moved nearly two years ago. So far, so good! 😀

Woah how cool! Did you make it to the recent eclipses as well?

Unfortunately I did not. Covid restrictions made interregional travel pretty difficult at the time.

Love skys like that. Nice to see the 6D still getting a workout. Such a wonderful camera.

It's a great camera, although in some things, it definitely shows it's age. I'm planning on upgrading this year, but am really uncertain which direction I'll go. I also have a Fujifilm which I like.

I still have my old 6D as a backup to the 6DII. I see no point in anything more expensive. People spend way to much on gear.