Medium Format Film | First Impressions

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

IMG_0267.jpg

Background

My background in photography has been fairly long, beginning when I was just a kid growing up in Minnesota. I grew up on digital cameras and besides taking photos with my parent’s film cameras a few times, I had never shot film. I bought my first DSLR when I was 18 and have slowly upgraded from a Canon Rebel XT to a a couple full-frame Canon 6D's. About a year ago I bought a Pentax KX 35mm film camera and a few lenses, and started dipping my toes into film photography using . Recently I bought a Mamiya C220 TLR from a gentleman who listed the camera on Craigslist. When I met him at his house to make the purchase, he proudly showed me baby photos he’d taken of his now 35 year old daughter. He was excited that the camera, which he had kept in pristine condition, would be loved and used again. My kit includes the Mamiya C220, 80mm 2.8 lens, 135mm 3.5 lens, hand grip, flash bracket, and cable shutter release. The camera takes medium format 120 or 220 length film, and exposes a 6x6 square frame.

I purchased three freshly dated rolls of 120 Kodak Ektar 100, and having just finished the first roll, I decided that it would be a good time to share my first impressions and thoughts. Keep in mind that the camera I’m using has undoubtedly shaped my first impressions, so in a significant way, this essay or review will be a blend of medium format film, and the Mamiya C220 TLR camera. This piece is by no means comprehensive, but realistically first impressions rarely are.

IMG_1113.jpg

Setup

Thanks to YouTube, loading the roll of film was simple. I was fortunate enough that the prior owner of the camera left his last empty spool in the rewind chamber, so everything was ready to go. With my Pentax 35mm camera it’s always a bit of guess where the first usable frame on the negative is, so I have often have the #firstoftheroll effect on that initial frame. With this camera, you load the film to the arrows on the backing paper, and then crank the film advance knob until it stops turning. The frame counter will read “1” and you are ready for your first exposure. With 120 length film, you are able to take 12 exposures on one roll.

IMG_1106.jpg

Shooting

This section doesn’t really pertain to the actual medium as much as it does with the camera that I’m using. The Mamiya C220 is a twin lens reflex (TLR) camera. This means that it has two lenses. The top lens focuses to a mirror that reflects to the ground glass in the waist level viewfinder. The bottom lens focuses light directly to the film in the camera. Using this camera is fun, and much slower than anything I’m used to. The waist level viewfinder is new to me, and it’s a simple joy to see the scene reflected in that small square piece of glass.

The process to take a photo includes cocking the shutter, which is on the lens itself, advancing the film, metering the scene, adjusting the aperture and shutter speed, and focusing as desired. The camera is fully manual so you will need to use an external light meter of some kind, or follow the “sunny 16” rule. I don’t have a light meter outside an app on my phone, or the one built in to my DSLR, so I use one of those two. Obviously the final step is to compose and take your shot. I was surprised how quiet the shutter is on this camera, especially at shutter speeds of 1/125 and above.

Using this camera, and shooting this format really encourages me to slow down and make careful considerations before each shot. One reason is because the camera demands you take your time — time to manually cock the shutter, advance the film, meter, and make all the needed adjustments. There is nothing automatic about the process. The second reason is because of the cost of medium format film, developing, and scanning. Without a disposable income, I want to make sure each shot I take is worthy of licensing to a client, or printing to share with someone. I’m hoping that shooting medium format film will help to improve my process and technique when shooting with my DSLR. I know that I have thought about it since shooting this roll of film. I’ll have my eye up to the viewfinder of my DSLR, and take extra time considering the edges of my frame, distance to the subject, and composition. I ask myself, “is this a shot I would take with my Mamiya?”

IMG_1104.jpg

Why

Why medium format? I'll be honest with you. I needed something to inspire me, to motivate me. I needed something that excited me about photography again. Even though that might sound kind of odd, I have noticed it before in my photography, that when I get a new piece of gear, go to a new location, or learn to edit photos in a new way, I'm freshly inspired to go out and create. I doubt I'll ever shoot a majority of my images in this format, but if it pushes me to try new things, get outside, and make photos, I'll consider it a worthy investment.

IMG_1101.jpg


The Photos

Now here are the photos from the first roll of 120. They're shot on Kodak Ektar 100 and gently edited in Lightroom with adjustments to exposure, contrast, and white balance.

Ektar100-000018910002.jpg

Ektar100-000018910006.jpg

Ektar100-000018910007.jpg

Ektar100-000018910012.jpg

Are you a film shooter, and have experience shooting medium format? I'd love to know if you can relate to my experience of shooting 120 for the first time. Drop a comment below. I love chatting about film and photography in general. I also hope this post has inspired you to get outside, try something new, and exercise your creativity!

Thanks!

The cover photo and versions of the other images in this post were first shared on my Instagram. link

Intro Post | Last Post | Instagram
Thanks for all the comments and upvotes! I really do appreciate it. The first few months here, I am investing all rewards I earn back into Steem Power. As this account grows, I'm dedicated to rewarding quality content, and helping others discover content that will keep them coming back to this platform. I would love your continued support as I grow.
Sort:  

Man, the C220 is a beautiful / underrated camera. I've never shot with one personally, but I think I'd love it. Can I ask how heavy it is?

BTW, the shots are stellar. Ektar has such a classic, warm feel to it.

Keep it up man. This is a great post. I wouldn't be afraid to repost it again in a week to see if it gets a bit more traffic.

Owen

Agreed. It is a gorgeous camera, and a joy to use. The leaf shutter is very quiet, and I like being able to change lenses. I don't think about the weight too much. It's heavier than my Pentax KX, and a bit bulkier than Yashica Mat-G. Everything feels so solid and smooth.

It's a mystery to me in the couple weeks I've been here how some posts gain traction and others don't. It's a bit of a frustration seeing poorly presented work getting high rewards. Oh well.

Thanks for sharing your experience and those photos are gorgeous!

Thanks!! Using these old cameras is a bit of a learning curve for me, but I love it!

great post! what i like the most are the photos...unbelievably beautiful! i ve been shooting film since 99 with some digital experiences in between and can't see myself moving to digital ..when i compare my holiday photos with film vs my traveling albums with digital I just prefer film by far! never tried medium format...i guess because i like small cameras and 36 exposures comes handy... keep shooting and let us enjoy your great work!

Thanks for the comment! I agree with you. Film holds some kind of magic, that's just wonderful to look at.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 11 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 17 SBD worth and should receive 78 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig