Japan Photo Blog, Vol. 79 - Winter in Niigata (a picturesque slush fuck dregs)

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

新潟

Niigata. Niigata.


Niigata, pronounced [niːɡata], is the capital city of Niigata Prefecture, Japan. Winters here are famously snowy, wet, and gray. Personally, I’ve had about enough. Here are some photos meant to showcase the mostly sunless dregs of this season.


34D22BBF-CC3A-46C0-91A9-B688C8E67E52.jpeg
Fuck.


E5F2895A-E3A4-4956-A146-AA9BD7632A29.jpeg
Slush.


886F3799-3B99-4394-9ED1-835FB71E4849.jpeg
Chopsticks.


798E4C0A-BCEE-43E7-9F1A-F89369419205.jpeg
Snow.


3FAC4A26-1FF6-4163-8D7B-12B81516788A.jpeg
Temporary salvation.


1B110285-F5A4-4061-BF06-3B0DACF97DCB.jpeg
That said...


~*~

(Thanks for stopping by! If you missed the last Japan Photo Blog, Vol. 78, “In Tokyo Color ・色な色な東京,” you can find it here.)

~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as DTube and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

Winter sucks ass dude, everywhere!
I'm off to the sun in Florida next week thankfully, I'll post you a sunny scene to hopefully cheer you up mate.
We're solar powered dude, constant grey is depressing. I know I live in Britain!
FYI, WTF is that doll sticking out of the snow!?

Please do man. Need to see some sun!

The doll is a concrete Snow White outside one of the kindergartens where I teach. The seven dwarves are buried completely.

nice photografhy bro 🙂

最初の写真、笑ってしまいました!
そしてカレーがとっても美味しそうですね〜♪

@childcare-さん、ありがとうございます!☺️
新潟の冬は大変なので、笑わないといけないですね!カレーは美味しかったです!

winter is here alright , cant wait for spring when life comes back, and the food at time likes this makes the heart jolly,

Enjoy the snow there.. could imagine how cold it would be there. It's cold here as well but no snow fall..
Resteemed..

新潟は雪がある時期に行ったことがありません。いつの日か体験してみたいです。

ぜひ来て見てください!

行ってよいときがあったら、お伺いしたいです。

Hey, yeah, I'm about done with winter. My objective is to move to a place like Costa Rica that has no winter. Woo hoo!

You were the top resteemer by follower count, so I have a Cargo Pocket Severe Trauma Kit to send to you. Please look me up on discord as Finnian#5365 and PM me your mailing address?

Thanks, friend! :)

Awesome man!! Thanks! Will do ASAP.

And yeah, Costa Rica!

Never ending snow for you :( When does the winter end there? I feel for you but at least you have lots of chopsticks should you need firewood :) Laugh kafkanarchy84 .. You cannot be mad, sad, or cry with a smile on your face!!! I love you friend .. SUNSHINE247

Pretty much ends around late March/early April, and good point! Thanks!

You are a good photographer 😗😍😍😍😍😍👍

Oh the weather looks like in germany, where I am from.^^ But at these moment it's only cold and grey here... I like your food photo most of all and generelly japanese food. :) Greetings from germany!

That temporary salvation looks super yummy, must be curry rice and shrimp ?

Close! Curry katsu. Curry and fried pork cutlets!

Looks a lot like Ohio today. Snowy and no Scotch! @kafkanarchy84

Damn that's quite a bit of snow. Love the first shot! If you ever make a photo book about nigata winter that should be the cover 😊

That "temporary salvation" got me drooling. Take me to Japan, with all those snow!

Oh yeah, man. I swear they put drugs in that stuff. It’s delicious!!!

@kafkarnachy84, hope it's not affecting you much, please take the necessary preventive measures needed.

But doll. Amazing photography.

Good shoot 👍

That brief salvation looks super yummy, must be curry rice and shrimp ?