Atmospheric, Eerie and Beautiful: An old Medieval Castle

in #photography6 years ago

Something a bit different now. I thought I would share my visit to a castle not far from me. It was a lovely day, quite eerie and beautiful as you can see below. I sort of imagined myself playing a game like Skyrim that I love, and wondering what might be inside this particular stronghold.

IMG_3759.jpg

On the approach you can get a sense of how dramatic and interesting it is, even for a smaller castle. There is something I absolutely love about the medieval period. All the ideas of knights and dragons.

IMG_3762.jpg

Here you can see more of my approach to the castle, and the drawbridge.

IMG_3770.jpg

Here, I'm actually just about on the drawbridge. No water around the outside any more, but a fair drop.

IMG_3771.jpg

Inside it was eerie and atmospheric. The person I was with kept wondered if perhaps 'witches' were inside. Not likely, but I could imagine that it would make a good film set, or something like that.

IMG_3766.jpg

This picture is from the storage cellar. There was an old fireplace, but I forgot to take a photograph of that.

IMG_3773.jpg

An old stone staircase.

IMG_3774.jpg

And looking out at the view that an archer would have as the enemy approached.

IMG_3767.jpg

Finally, looking out from the top when I reached it at a glorious day. A real sense of history, and a feeling of being happy to be alive. Thanks for checking this out.

IMG_3776.jpg

Sort:  

wonderful (: