You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My First Photography Post - Kyoto, Japan

in #photography6 years ago

This place looks very peaceful. I want to visit here one day...I just hope at that time the internet will be more accessible. I heard from a friend that internet was hard to access there, I'm not sure if its the same until now...

Sort:  

I hope you will be able to visit someday soon! It is indeed a beautiful and peaceful place.

In terms of the internet situation, Japan has been notorious for not having free WiFi in the past, however, the situation has improved a lot in the major cities like Tokyo and Kyoto. There is usually free WiFi at train stations, in hotels, and sometimes just walking around outside. All Starbucks have WiFi as well. Outside of major cities, it can be a bit harder to come by, so if you are headed to more rural areas, I would recommend getting a data sim card for your phone which can be bought at the airport upon arrival or at electronics stores like Bic Camera or Yodobashi Camera. An alternative is just to rent a WiFi router for your stay from somewhere like Wi-Fi Hire. Anyway, I would not let the internet situation deter you from visiting such an awesome country!